It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information: Online Access of Government Information
Welcome to Alkek Library's Government Information unit. This guide was created to assist researchers who might use publications or resources published by the federal or state government.
If you would like assistance accessing online government information, please contact the Government Information staff at email@example.com. We are happy to assist you.
Public Use Computers
The Alkek Library has three public use computers available to community members. Visitors may use the computers to view, download, copy, and print government information.
Public access to online federal government information is free of charge and equal to that offered for access to other information. In accordance with Texas State University Libraries policies, public patrons are charged a per page fee for printing or photocopying.
The public use computers are located on the 3rd floor. Please see the Computer Help Desk if you have any technical issues with the computers.
Internet search tip!
A simple alternative to searching specific databases for government information--type the following into a search engine, like Google:
then add your topic:
site:.gov jfk assassination
Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov)
data.census.gov is the new platform and a centralized location to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
These online resources are available to the public for free and can be found with an Internet search.
Index to the Catalog of United States Government Publications, including documents generated by the legislative and executive branches and other Federal Government agencies. Contains materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries (such as Alkek Library).
Coverage: 1976 to present
Search national records and images that help tell the stories of the United States and its people. Good for primary source research.
Most of these databases are licensed solely for use by Texas State University students, faculty, and staff. However, in many cases, databases may be used by community users who are physically present in the Library.
U.S. legislative members & committees, bills & laws, bill tracking & histories, hot bills, congressional testimony/hearings, committee reports, voting records, floor votes, campaign contributions from individuals & PACS, congressional publications, regulations, Congressional Record & Rules, & political news.
Coverage: Legislative histories 1969 to present. Bills & Laws 1970 to present. Vote Report 1987 to present. Committees prints 1817 to present. Congressional Record Bound Edition (aka Permanent Digital Collection) and Predecessors 1789-1997. CR Daily Edition 1985-present, CRS Reports 2004-2010, Hearings 2004 to present. House & Senate Documents and Reports 1817 to present, Serial Set 1789-present. Serial Set Maps 1789 to present.
The Serial Set includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. It is a broken into parts (collections). Collection 1 begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and provides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set through 1969. Collection II provides coverage from 1970 to present. Collection II also contains Senate and Executive Documents and Reports 1817-1978.