Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Feature Film & Television Database
Film - Television Literature Index with Full Text
This database will cover subjects such as: film, television theory, research, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It also offers full text and some book chapters for your research needs. Dates vary, but there is an abundant selection of information for any research paper or project that will help you complete your goals.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & television theory & research, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Symptom Media Film Library
Includes 180 clinical training vignettes including a newly released military centric series illustrates symptoms unfolding on screen and serves as an integral educational tool for “symptom recognition.” All films are produced with a multi-disciplinary behavioral health team working in concert with professional scriptwriters, filmmakers and highly trained actors.
What About Film?
Call Number: TR855 .W53 2010
Widescreen composition and transnational influence: early anamorphic filmmaking in Japan / Eric Crosby
Find books in the library collection to help you learn more about the film industry.
Film & Television Reference Resources
Searching for Something?
Need to do research for your class? Alkek Library offers several ways to accomplish your goals to complete a great paper, by finding the right information on Film History, Cinematography, Theatre, etc. You can find all your Film, Theatre, & Television research sources right at your finger tips. Here are a few places to go to get you started.
Film Review Databases
Looking for Film Reviews, then you have found the right spot. Here you can search these databases to find reviews on your favorite films, or just to see what it is about. Many will give you short descriptions of the movie, but also include insight from directors and columnist.
Streaming Video Databases
Want to know more about the selection of Streaming Videos we offer. These databases will allow you to get some information and suggestions of various videos you may need for a project or research paper.
Film & Television Periodical Resources
Magazines & E-Journals
Alkek library offers over 100 titles for film, television research, and personal interest. Most periodicals can either be assessed in person on the 3rd Floor of the library, as an E-Journal, or online through one of our Film and Television databases. Search the catalog today to. Below are two great journal titles to start you on your way to research information on a film.
Call Number: PN1993 .F438
ISBN: 0015-119X 0015-120X 1
Film Comment is an arts and culture magazine now published by the Film Society of Lincoln Center, of which it is the official publication.
Literature Film Quarterly
Call Number: PN1995.3 .L57
ISBN: 0090-4260 1
Literature/Film Quarterly is the longest standing international journal devoted to the study of adaptation. Founded in 1973 by Jim Welsh and Tom Erskine, the journal has for over thirty-five years served as a forum for scholars and writers to discuss, debate, and articulate various ways of conceptualizing adaptation, whether in the more traditional considerations of transforming fiction and drama into film or in the more recent reflections on intertextuality, adaptation theory, and other related concerns.