Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Search
Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.
Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.
- The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.
What is Full Text Finder?
Look for a link like this one in the results list:
Full Text Finder is a process that will search all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available.
If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder results page will give you a direct link to it.
If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:
- First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a print copy of that journal instead of an electronic version. Learn more about requesting access to print journals in this FAQ.
- If the library does not own a print copy, request a copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info:
512.245.4893 or email
with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Checkout Desk on the 3rd floor of the Library.
Top Journals in Chemistry
Of the 561 journals in the various Chemistry categories, these 10 journals ranked highest for Impact Factor in 2018. This data is taken from the Journal Citation Reports database.
Top Journals in Biochemistry