Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Resources for Science Writing
Academic Writing Step by Step by Academic Writing Step by Step offers a new methodology for teaching academic writing informed by discourse analysis and genre theory and by recent research in text analysis. The book draws on accessible articles presenting popular science topics of current interest to illustrate and practice the processes involved in developing and writing an academic essay or research paper step by step. Each unit in Academic Writing Step by Step involves the user in guided "hands-on" practical analysis of an exemplar text. This analysis forms the basis for a sequence of learning activities directing students to engage with the text, moving from analysis (reading for intent) to composition (writing with intent). In this structured process, students acquire a critical understanding of the components of research and essay writing to underpin their own writing. Support for students' analysis and writing of texts includes pre-reading, while-reading, and post-reading activities. These activities are linked to practice in the recognition and use of words in context, grammar in context, and distinctive features of text types. Each unit contains many interactive tasks and closes with a substantive writing assignment reinforcing at least one component of academic writing highlighted in the unit. The book is designed as a textbook for academic or research writing courses, and its step-by-step approach makes it usable by university undergraduates or senior secondary students, including those for whom English is a second or foreign language. In addition, its authentic readings and focus on academic and research writing makes it also suitable for graduate level writing courses in English-speaking and English as a second or foreign language contexts.
Call Number: PE1408 .C29555 2016
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Communicating Science by Read this book before you write your thesis or journal paper Communicating Science is a textbook and reference on scientific writing oriented primarily at researchers in the physical sciences and engineering. It is written from the perspective of an experienced researcher. It draws on the authors' experience of teaching and working with both native English speakers and English as a Second Language (ESL) writers. For the range of topics covered, this book is relatively short and tersely written, in order to appeal to busy researchers.Communicating Science offers comprehensive guidance on: Graduate students and early career researchers will be guided through the researcher's basic communication tasks: writing theses, journal papers, and internal reports, presenting lectures and posters, and preparing research proposals. Extensive best practice examples and analyses of common problems are presented. Advanced researchers who aim to commercialize their research results will be introduced to business plans and patents, so that they can communicate optimally with patent attorneys and business analysts. Likewise, advanced researchers will be assisted in conveying the results of their research to the industrial and business community, governmental circles, and the general public in the chapter on popular media. Researchers at all levels will find the chapter on CV's and job hunting helpful. The Writing Well chapter will assist researchers to improve their English usage in scientific writing. This chapter is oriented both at native English speakers, who have an intuitive command of English but often lack formal instruction on grammar and structure, and non-native English writers, who often have had formal instruction but lack intuitive grasp of what sounds good.Mentors will find the book a useful tool for systematically guiding their students in their early writing efforts. If your students read this book first, you will save time Communicating Science may serve as a textbook for graduate level courses in scientific writing.
Call Number: Q223 .B694 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Complete Science Communication by Written as a textbook to support advanced level undergraduate and postgraduate courses, the book brings together all aspects of science communication. Focus is on the four key areas of writing for non-technical audiences and science journalism; writing for technical audiences and peer-reviewed journals; public speaking of science; and public relations. This text will provide science students with an appreciative understanding of accepted human communication theories and practices. Potential assignments are also provided at the end of each chapter as additional resources.
Call Number: Q223 .F67 2019
Publication Date: 2018-10-22
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications. By providing practical, readable, and sometimes humorous guidance, this book enables researchers to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in communicating about their work. The authors not only guide readers in the craft of scientific writing--broken down into the separate tasks of writing the respective sections of a scientific paper and then publishing the paper--but also address important related psychological, ethical, logistical, and cultural considerations in communicating about science. Chapter topics include composing (and requesting) recommendation letters, writing grant proposals, providing peer review, editing one's own work, preparing oral presentations and poster presentations, and working with the popular media. This is an essential resource for researchers--both native and non-native users of English--with limited experience writing scientific papers, such as graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty members. * Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references * Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process * Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals * Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: T11 .D33 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Scientific and Medical Communication by Scientific and Medical Communication: A Guide for Effective Practice prepares readers to effectively communicate in professional scientific communities. The material in this book is firmly grounded in more than 500 published research findings and editorials by scientific writers, authors, and journal editors. Thus, this text provides the broadest and most comprehensive analysis of scientific writing. In addition, carefully selected and thoroughly annotated examples from the scientific and medical literature demonstrate the recommendations covered in the text. These real-world examples were carefully selected so that the scientific content can be understood by those without a detailed background in any particular scientific or medical field--thus clearly illustrating the content organization and writing style. This text will prepare individuals to write and edit scientific manuscripts, conference abstracts, posters, and press releases according to journal and professional standards. Readers will also learn to conduct effective searches of the scientific and medical literature, as well as proper citation practices.
Call Number: Q223 .M5925 2018
Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Scientific Writing and Communication by Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Fourth Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and r�sum�s, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Call Number: Q223 .H63 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
STEM Student Research Handbook by This comprehensive resource for STEM teachers and students, outlines the various stages of large-scale research projects, enabling teachers to coach their students through the research process. This handbook provides enough detail to embolden all teachersOCoeven those who have never designed an experiment on their ownOCoto support student-researchers through the entire process of conducting experiments."
Call Number: View online
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
A survival guide for research scientists by The ultimate companion book that will look after you and your research career Research scientists play a pivotal role in society. Their passion for science will drive them forward, leading to new discoveries that will ultimately make the world a better place. Unfortunately, as the professional environment becomes more and more competitive, research scientists today cannot just rely on technical knowledge to carve successful careers. Besides technical skills, they will need to acquire other skills, such as how to communicate their science to the outside world. A Survival Guide for Research Scientists is a one-stop-shop that will help you to develop those core skills not often taught at school or university. The book has been written by an author with more than 20 years of scientific research experience (across different scientific disciplines). She has not only been a research scientist but also a writer, a consultant, a sole-trader and a project manager. A Survival Guide for Research Scientists takes on a holistic approach in order to help you pave the way for success. As such, it features practical guidelines on how to: " conduct your scientific research (how to: do literature review, design experiments, adopt best practice, ensure health and safety, etc.)." write and edit (reports, bid proposals, peer review publications, etc)." interact with the outside world (be a team leader, manage a project, network, deal with difficult people, do presentations, organise meetings, etc.)." look after your career (and get your dream job)." look after yourself (and how to manage stress)." look for a job (develop your CV, prepare for interviews, etc.)." become self-employed (and achieve business success)." deal with redundancy (and move forward in life, etc). Whatever your scientific background may be, this book is the perfect accompaniment, to guide you at every stage of your career.
Call Number: View online
Publication Date: 2019
Getting more help...
If you have specific questions about citing your sources, writing tips, or help with editing, you can go to the following places on campus for more assistance.
Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC)
Get in-person tutoring at the Student Learning Assistance Center, or SLAC, located on the 4th floor of Alkek Library. Check the website for hours and availability.
SLAC also maintains good handout page for quick reference.
Texas State University Writing Center
The Writing Center is located on the first floor of ASB North. You can get help with all types of writing, including papers, essays, and resumes.
The Writing Center offers in-person and online tutoring (check their website for more information).
Round Rock patrons can seek assistance from the Round Rock Writing Center.
ACS Publishing Center
Everything you need to prepare and review manuscripts for ACS journals.
ACS Research Data Center
ACS has developed a data packaging tool to assist you in zipping FID files, acquisition data, and processing parameters along with other appropriate FAIR metadata such as a SMILES or InChi for submission
Elsevier for Authors
Welcome to the Author Hub, where you can find all the information you need to publish in an Elsevier book or journal.
Nature Research: For Authors
A central resource for author services offered by Nature and Nature Research journals. Access our journals, their impact factors and editorial scope. Find author and submission information and benefits for published Nature journal authors.
Oxford Academic: Author Resources
Whether you are preparing your manuscript for submission, are wondering what to do once your manuscript has been accepted, or are trying to find out how to best promote your article, we have general resources to help you along the way.
Royal Society of Chemistry: Author & reviewer hub
Everything you need to share your valuable knowledge and discoveries with the world – from preparation, through review, to promotion