| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. - Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.
Library Catalog
- Library CatalogThe Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your ResearchBooks, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google BooksSearches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCatIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information.
Consider the features in Settings to make it work better with your research:
â–ºLibrary Links - FindIt@TxState
â–ºBibliography Manager - set this EndNote (which is referring to the desktop version).
Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals, but this filter is not available in Google Scholar. Consult Ulrich's to find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed by searching the title of the journal.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Related Resources
- Center for Credentialing & EducationA list of textbooks they recommend as resources to assist you in studying for the NCE. Check the Library Catalog for call numbers for each title.