Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Disorders: Career & Job Resources

Counseling as a Career

The University Libraries offer many career resources for careers in Communication Disorders and related fields.

Streaming video

Our Films on Demand Career Collection offers streaming videos clips covering various career fields, including those in the field of Human Services

Careers in Communication Disorders

About Speech-Language Pathology Careers (ASHA: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association)

What is a speech-language pathologist, and what do they do?

ASHA Career Portal (ASHA: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association)

Speech-Language Pathologists, Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Overview information about this career field including responsibilities, work environment, job outlook, state & area data, and salary.

Audiologists, Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Overview information about this career field including responsibilities, work environment, job outlook, state & area data, and salary.

National Career Development Association (NCDA)

NCDA inspires and empowers the achievement of career and life goals by providing professional development, resources, standards, scientific research, and advocacy. NCDA is a founding division of the American Counseling Association (ACA).

General online resources

Career Information

  • Career OneStop is an easy-to-use U.S. Labor Department site provides information about career exploration, employment trends, self assessment, and tips for getting and keeping jobs.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook provides descriptive information about a career and to find projections about future growth in the field and salary estimates.  Entry specific to Audiologists, Speech-Language Pathologists 
  • Occupational Outlook Quarterly provides practical information for job-seekers, including search tips, salary information, and descriptions of unusual occupations. 
  • O*NET Online allows you to find information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations.

Finding a job

  • MakingtheDifference is a joint initiative between the Partnership for Public Service and the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM), is dedicated to helping students learn more about careers in the federal government.
  • StudentJobs.gov provides information about student employment and internships in the federal government. In addition to searching for jobs, students can also create a profile to receive news of job postings or build a resume. Site is sponsored by the Office of Personnel Management.
  • USAJOBS is sponsored by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, this site is the official one-stop source for federal job and employment information. Site includes a federal resume builder.
  • WorkInTexas is sponsored by the Texas Workforce Commission, site provides information for Texas jobseekers.

Salary and benefit resources

  • Davis-Bacon Wage Determination contains wage determinations issued by the Department of Labor under the Davis-Bacon and related Acts by county. The Wage and Hour Division of the Labor Department determines prevailing wage rates to be paid on federally funded construction projects.
  • National Compensation Survey provides average salaries or benefit information for different occupations by geographic region.  For example, see average salaries for different types of work for Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos (from the Bureau of Labor Statistics).

Research Services

Profile Photo
Anthony Guardado

OR

Contact:
Texas State University
Round Rock Campus
Avery 255A
512-716-4701
Social: Twitter Page

How to do it...

Alkek Library's Career Guides Collection provides valuable assistance in preparing for a job interview or career search. 

Check these links for library resources on career-specific topics: