Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COUN 5372: Assessment and Treatment in Marriage & Family Counseling: Research Databases

Key Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Formats: Many linked full text articles. Citations to books & dissertations.
Coverage: 1887 to present 

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Emotional & behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Nearly every full text title in this database is also indexed in the larger citation database, PsycINFO.
Formats: Many full text articles.
Coverage: 1965 to present.

 

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Subjects: Citations for dissertations & theses from 1861 to the present. Titles published since 1997 are available for download in PDF format. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts.
Formats: Many full text dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 to present.

Tests / Assessments

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Useful for evaluating test products within psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. No full text of tests are included. TIP is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.
Formats: Full text reviews.
Coverage: Volume 1 (1938) to present 

 

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Medical, nursing, psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, & speech & hearing therapy tests. Documents include unpublished tools for clinicians discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating & other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tests are in the medical and nursing fields and address areas such as pain measurement, quality of life assessment, & drug efficacy evaluation.
Formats: Full text.
Coverage: 1985 to present.

 

SDSU Test Finder (San Diego State University)

Subjects: Psychology, education, nursing, social work, sociology, communication, & management tests, instruments, rating scales, & measures. To obtain a test, check Alkek Library to determine if it has the source volume or journal. If not available, you may be able to get the material via interlibrary loan. Hint: search for assessment by using quotes. Ex: "parenting stress index"
Formats: Citations to books & journals. Some web sites with full text.
Coverage: Dates vary.

Searching Multiple Databases

Start Your Research (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Start Your Research here to search all types of content including articles, books, ebooks, streaming media, dissertations, and more from many different publishers and vendors. This does not search all library databases but it does search many all at once.
Formats: Single search box for multiple databases
Coverage: Varies.

 

Academic Search (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Multi-subject. Animal science, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, history, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, & zoology.
Formats: Many full text articles.
Coverage: 1865 to present.

 

Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Multi-disciplinary. Education, general and applied science, humanities, business, social sciences, technology, art, biology, agriculture and more.
Formats: Many full text articles and book reviews. Citations to books.
Coverage: Indexing 1982 to present, full text 1994 to present.

 

Other Databases Worth Considering

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies.
Formats: Some linked full text articles. Citations to conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations.
Coverage: 1970 to present

 

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning & public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, & social work.
Formats: Many full text articles & book reviews.
Coverage: Indexing, 1983 to present. Selected full text, 1994 to present.

 

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Subjects: Sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare.
Formats: Many full text articles, book chapters, & conference papers. Citations to dissertations.
Coverage: 1895 to present.

 

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Subjects: Sociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psychology.
Formats: Many full text articles. Citations to books & conference papers.
Coverage: 1966 to present, abstracts 1977 to present.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)

Subjects: Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Texas State does not own all the items listed in WorldCat.
Formats: Citations to books, manuscripts, websites & internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, & videotapes.
Coverage: Dates vary.

Streaming Video

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)

Subjects: Social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Formats: Streaming video footage of actual therapy sessions or re-enacted counseling sessions, demonstrations, consultations, lectures, and interviews; all with synchronized full-text transcripts.
Coverage: 1980 to present.

 

DVDs and VHS tapes can also be found by using the library's online catalog.


Google Scholar


Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:

Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote