Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECON 5316: Managerial Economics: Advanced Searching

This is a class guide for Dr. Feng's Economics 5316 Managerial Economics class.

Citation Management

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

 

  • Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
  • Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
  • Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.

Advanced Searching

Research Hacks:

Citation Analysis Databases  Choose a citation analysis database to see the most influential articles in a field.

Credo Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (read PHDs and Master's Degrees for style, content and their bibliographies)

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Periodical List Look up your journal citation and see which database has it.

WorldCat - Every book in the world, even if we don't have it. Request through Interlibrary loan.

Identify Influential Articles


Usually, the most cited articles in a field are the most influential.

Go to a Citation Analysis database (different ones for different disciplines). 

Then go to Periodical List to look up your journal citation and see which database has it.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Isabelle Antes
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Alkek Library, 301B
601 University
San Marcos, TX 78666
512.245.3946