When looking for Statistics & Data in any discipline or topic, always consider if it could be collected by a government agency -- nonprofit/nongovernmental organization – private business/industry group – academic researchers.
Sage Stats: US Statistics on healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Users can easily browse by location or by topic, and compare across locations or across time. Mapping and graphing tools enhance exploration and comparison. Data is exportable. Data sets are continually updated and added.
Coverage: 1990s to present. Some series date back to 1977. Type Data: Documentation/Tutorial When you find data you're interested in, explore it using the mapping and graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel.
Subjects: Agriculture, Crime and Law Enforcement, Defense, Economy, Education, Employment/Labor, Energy/Environment, Geography, Government/Finances, Health, Households/Housing, Population/Politics, Religion/Arts, Social Welfare, Transportation.
U.S. Census Bureau, American Factfinder: Population, housing, economic, and geographic. indicators: Population Age Business and Industry Education Governments Housing Income Origins and Language Poverty Race and Hispanic Origin Veterans
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): An archive of social science data (1962-present). Users can use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, & Stata. Thematic categories include census data, community & urban studies, conflict, aggression, economic behavior, education, leadership, geography, health care, legal systems, mass political behavior, and organizational behavior. Each report provides source information on the right.
Pew Research Center: Studies and surveys on demography, domestic policy, economics, elections, energy and environment, global attitudes/foreign affairs, immigration, internet and technology, legal, news media, politics and elections, public opinion, religion, research methodology, and social trends. Data can be downloaded if you create an account.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: (1878-present, Full-text statistics, in PDF and Excel formats) Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States: Agriculture, arts, recreation, banking, finance, insurance, business enterprise, construction, housing, education, elections, energy, utilities, foreign commerce, geography, environment, health, nutrition, income, labor force, employment, earnings, law enforcement, courts, manufactures, population, transportation.
U.S. Census Bureau, Voting and Registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristic. Does not include what political party or candidate voters supported.
Most education statistics you see in published books, articles, and various sites will list their Source: as National Center for Education Statistics
NCES collects, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. This site provides access to many reports and publications of the NCES. Publications can be searched by subject, keyword, release date and NCES number. Datasets of surveys can be downloaded, and manipulated using the Data Analysis System (DAS), a Windows application that downloads with the data.
NCES: Condition of Education contains key indicators on the condition of education in the United States at all levels, from prekindergarten through postsecondary, as well as labor force outcomes and international comparisons. The indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics, which are updated throughout the year as new data become available. In addition, the report’s Spotlight indicators provide more in-depth analyses on selected topics.
NOAA Satellite and Information Service provides weather-related satellite images and data sets: Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, weather models, climate models, and analyses.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: U.S. statistics and analysis on national, international, regional, & industry accounts
Bureau of Labor Statistics: U.S. labor economics and statistics, including employment, inflation, Consumer Price Index, productivity, and pay & benefits.
Economic Census: The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
Economic Indicators: Monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics include U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
RAND Texas, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty ; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ; Federal Government ; State & Local Government.
Texas County Data via Texas Association of Counties (TAC) provides data by county including Age ; Detailed Tax Rates ; Education/Unemployment ; Ethnicity/Race ; Financial/Tax Summary ; General Information (land area, water area, total area, percent urban, percent rural); Income/Poverty ; Population. County Search allows a search of a single county and generates a report that contains all TAC data points.
Texas Demography Center provides population and socioeconomic data.