Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Statistics & Data: State & Local

Remember

When looking for Statistics & Data in any discipline or topic, always consider if it could be collected by a government agency -- nonprofit/nongovernmental organization – private business/industry group – academic researchers.

Library Databases

State & Local Statistics

RAND, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty ; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ;  Federal Government ; State & Local Government.

Texas Department of State Health Services presents information compiled by the Texas DSHS, which includes direct links to Texas health-related data found on the Center for Health Statistics page.

Vital Statistics Annual Reports include data on vital events such as births, deaths, pregnancies, fetal deaths, abortions, marriages and divorces. Tables and narratives are created for the most frequently requested topics as the data become available. To find information on a particular topic, please locate the topic below for the desired year, or select the main page for the annual report to the right. Items are added as they are completed, so check back often for the most recent data.

RAND, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty ; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ;  Federal Government ; State & Local Government.

Texas Department of Criminal Justice Statistics provides death row Information, and statistics on Business and Finance, Services, Health Services, and Safety Statistics.

Texas Department of Public Safety: Crime in Texas is an annual report (with a 1-2 year delay in release) of voluntarily reported city crime statistics in 1,059 cities in Texas.

Texas Prison Inmates: via Texas Tribune (requires Google sign-in). Use this app to explore Texas’ prison units, and learn more about the more than 137,000 inmates housed inside them. Search for inmates by name, look at the most common crimes among inmates, take a closer look at specific prison units. You can also view all Death Row inmates.

RAND, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty ; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ;  Federal Government ; State & Local Government.

Texas Almanac provides data that includes Environment ; Weather ; Counties ; Population ; Government ; Health & Science ; Education ; Business ; Transportation ; Agriculture

USGS Water-Quality Data for Texas offers over 750 USGS real-time stream, lake, reservoir, precipitation, and groundwater stations in context with current weather and hazard conditions on both desktop and mobile devices.

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Southern Plains Regional Field Office (including the Texas Field Office) includes agricultural statistics reports, and archives from USDA and Texas Department of Agriculture. 

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Data and Records provides raw data on environmental quality - both for free, available for open records requests, and for purchase. Check other resources for data before purchasing a data set yourself!

RAND, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & PovertyLabor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ;  Federal Government ; State & Local Government.

Texas County Data via Texas Association of Counties (TAC) provides data by county including Age ; Detailed Tax Rates ; Education/Unemployment ; Ethnicity/Race ; Financial/Tax Summary ; General Information (land area, water area, total area, percent urban, percent rural); Income/Poverty ; Population. County Search allows a search of a single county and generates a report that contains all TAC data points.

Dallas Federal Reserve Research provides key issues affecting the economy and monetary policy. Find economic data on Eleventh District performance and selected topics.

Texas Economy (Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts) presents resources that dig deep into the economic forces affecting the state of Texas: forecasts, key economic indicators, regional data, the 50-state scorecard, and other special reports.

Texas Economic Development: Reports & Publications offers resources that provide information about the state's economy meant to encourage development and tourism.

RAND, statistics in Population & Demographics ; Environment, Resources & Weather ; Health & Health Care ; K-12 Education ; Business & Economics ; Higher Education ; Crimes, Prisons & Courts ; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty ; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings ; Social Insurance & Human Services ; Energy ; Transportation & Travel ;  Federal Government ; State & Local Government.

Texas County Data via Texas Association of Counties (TAC) provides data by county including Age ; Detailed Tax Rates ; Education/Unemployment ; Ethnicity/Race ; Financial/Tax Summary ; General Information (land area, water area, total area, percent urban, percent rural); Income/Poverty ; Population. County Search allows a search of a single county and generates a report that contains all TAC data points.

Texas Demography Center provides population and socioeconomic data.