Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Statistics & Data: International

Remember

When looking for Statistics & Data in any discipline or topic, always consider if it could be collected by a government agency -- nonprofit/nongovernmental organization – private business/industry group – academic researchers.

Library Databases

International Historical Statistics (1750-2010), Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies. Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. 

Web of Science, Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.


Image result for google dataset

International Statistics

The World Bank Open Data Intiative provides a database with direct access to more than 900 development indicators for 210 countries from 1960 to present (where data are available).

Databank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. You can use DataBank as a registered or unregistered user. Unregistered users can generate customized reports, view tables, charts, maps and metadata, as well as download data. Registered users also have these options plus the ability to save data selections in the system and render it at any point in time, share tables, charts and maps with other users, and embed data visualizations directly into blogs or websites. 

Other Sources 

  • Gapminder is an interactive data visualization tool, includes data from a variety of international organizations.   
  • OECD iLibrary is the portal to publications and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Development (OECD). Data is available for OECD member countries and covers various economic and social themes. Select the "Statistics" link to access databases, tables or statistical publications.   
  • OECD Factbook eXplorer is an interactive graphical (map and charts) tool for analyzing country-level statistics from the OECD Factbook. See also the Regional eXplorer (http://stats.oecd.org/OECDregionalstatistics/) to look at data within select countries.   
  • UNdata Explorer compiles over 30 databases produced by United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions and other UN agencies under one interface. While time period and geographic coverage vary for each dataset, data are generally current and far-reaching—covering a broad range of international measures related to the UN’s mission to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations and promote social progress, better living standards and human rights.   
  • The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations. The UIS Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication and allows users to download predefined tables or build their own. Summary data (profiles and global rankings) are also available.

 

NAFSA International Education Statistics provides a quantitative look at the impact international education has in the United States. 

EdStats is The World Bank's database of education statistics brings together data collected by various national and international organizations. Use the "EdStats Query" module to view or compare various education indicators (e.g. pupil/teacher ratio) from 1970+ for up to 200 countries. 

EURYDICE is an information network on education in Europe established by the European Commission and its member states. Publications and the database provide descriptions of national education systems, comparative studies devoted to specific topics, and indicators and statistics.   

NCES International Activities Program (IAP) provides links to all international studies the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) supports.  

NCES International Data Explorer (IED) provides student and adult performance on international assessments (TIMSS, PIRLS, PISA, PIACC, TALIS), survey questionnaire results for thousands of variables, data for the U.S. and 80 other education systems.

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Education Database of key education indicators includes enrollment, graduation rates, staffing, and educational expenditures. Data can be correlated by a number of variables including country, date, educational level, gender, and type of institution.

World Health Organization provides access to data and analysis for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analysis for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.