Image Databases
This is a list of some image databases related mostly to art and design, but if you need more or other types of images, for example medical, historical, multi-cultural, there are many more on the Image Databases page.
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new windowOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda.
Coverage, 1911-1955; Format, Magazine and newspaper ads.; Resource Type, Image Database
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historical photographs, maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. The Archive is licensed for educational use. Coverage: Photographs - 1826 to present, audio clips - from the 1920’s to present, news stories - from 1997 to present. Format: Current and historical photographs,
Resource Type: Image Database - Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new windowImages of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture photographed by the Allan T. Kohl, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature.
Coverage: Dates vary. - ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Over a million images of artworks, photography (artistic and documentary), and the built environment (architectural structures and monuments).
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowImages in over 580 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources on the history of women in the United States. This diverse collection ranges from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century. Coverage: 1600s to present. Format: Links to digitized photos, letters, diaries, artifacts,films, oral history interviews, periodicals, etc.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Formats: Advertising images and publications; broadsides, advertising cookbooks, billboards, signs, ephemera.
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new windowArchitecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. Covers visual arts of the Classical period.
- OAIster This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, books, texts, audio files, videos, images, and datasets stored in over 1,100 open access repositories all over the world.
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowAmerican and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s. 1620 to present. Articles, media, images, facts and figures.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center This link opens in a new windowArt, Political History, Natural History, Folklife, Culture, Air and Space, Humanities, Photographs, Horticulture. Coverage varies. Over 7.4 million records with nearly 570,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
Finding Video & Audio
If you need video or audio check out some of the library resources listed on this page.
Finding Images using Library Image Databases
The library's image databases are databases that the library subscribes to. They are generally going to have more high quality, high resolution images than images you find through Google or other free image websites. Some of the sites listed on the Image Websites tab DO have larger resolution files.
ARTstor Image Use
"ARTstor images are available for strictly pedagogical and scholarly purposes, as outlined in our Terms of Use. No ARTstor images may be used for publication or commercial purposes." - From ARTstor Digital Library FAQs
Creating URLs or PowerPoints from Artstor Image groups
This tutorial will show you how to create your ARTstor account and make PowerPoints and URLs to ARTstor image groups.
Exporting citations for images from ARTstor to Refworks
This tutorial will show you how to export the citation information for images you use for your papers from ARTstor to RefWorks, a citation manager that you as a Texas State Student have access to. Learn more about Refworks on the library's RefWorks page.
