Reference Databases
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Entries cover all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
Google Scholar Search
NOTE! This will only give you access to scholarly articles that Alkek Library subscribes to if you are on campus! If you are off campus and want to use Google Scholar to search far articles that we have access to please use the library's Google Scholar proxy link.
Suggested Art & Design Databases for Finding Articles & Images
A little bit about databases:
- They aren't free. The library subscribes to them, in other words, you can't get them via Google without paying.
- They search for book and journal articles instead of webpages.
- Each database has a different focus. Be careful to read the descriptions so you pick an appropriate database for your topic.
- Be aware that sometimes the full text of articles may not be available in the database you're using, but it may be accessible in print or in another database. Ask a librarian if you aren't sure.
- Search Periodical List or the library's catalog to see if full text is available elsewhere through the library.
- If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password.
Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.
Art and Design Databases
These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.
- Art & Architecture Archive
- Art Source (used to be Art Full Text, now includes Art Index Retrospecitve)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art / Repetoire Internacional de la literature d'Art from The J. Paul Getty Trust
- Design and Applied Arts Index
- Dissertations & Theses from ProQuest
- Humanities Source (was Humanities Full Text, now includes Humanities International Complete)Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection
- JSTOR
- Project Muse
- Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.
Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories.
Education Databases
You could also check out our whole list of education databases for articles about art education, Here a couple of them:
Or try searching our Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.
