Getting Started | Background Information
-
A History of Bilingual Education in the U.S. / Sarah C. K. Moore
This book traces a history of bilingual education in the US, unveiling the role of politics in policy development and implementation. It introduces readers to past systemic supports for creation of diverse bilingual educational programs and situates particular instances and phases of expansion and decline within related sociopolitical backdrops. -
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education
Publication Date: 2015-04-13Presents the first comprehensive international reference work of the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education. Represents the first comprehensive reference work that covers bilingual, multilingual, and multicultural educational policies and practices around the world, including Texas..
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in Education. Continually updated.
Juvenile Material at Alkek
The Alkek Juvenile Collection is located on the 3rd Floor of the Alkek Library. The Collection offers a selection of titles primarily to support the needs of student educators and Education & English department faculty.
A related collection, Scholastic Guided Reading, is available at Alkek Library. Each set can be checked out for 2 weeks and renewals are also allowed. The collection offers the Fiction, Nonfiction, Content, and Spanish sets.
The TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection on the 3rd Floor of the Library houses books currently in adoption as well as some recently out of adoption. TCMC ESL content is available for all grade levels.
The Round Rock campus (RRC) library offers the RRC Juvenile Collection of their own as well.
Be sure to check our Juvenile Exhibit case on the 3rd floor to see what new titles we've added.
Browzine
BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.
Browse Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education journals, and set up My Bookshelf!