How do I search the library catalog?
Search the library catalog for print resources, ebooks, movies, and more!
The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
Each item in the library's collection has its own catalog record, like the one below.
Here you can see the item's location and call number and also its status. If it says AVAILABLE, the item should be on the shelf.
The subject terms are useful not only for finding other materials that are closely related to the one you're looking at, but also for suggesting using subject headings to find books, in addition to a keyword strategy.
Hint: Always start your searches broadly and then narrow your results to find the most useful material.
Finding books not owned @ Texas State
- WorldCat (on FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. This version of WorldCat does not offer permalinking, use the public version instead.
Reading/Downloading Ebooks via EBSCO
Reference Books for General Background
- Handbook of North American Indians
This set was published by Smithsonian Institution. It was never finished due to funding issues. The set was planned to be 20 volumes. They were not published in order (See details at link below)
Native Peoples - A to ZCall Number: E-Book- Also available in printISBN: 1878592734Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: Reference Shelves, Floor 2 KF8205 .E525 2009ISBN: 9781933116983Publication Date: 2008
American Indian Culture by Call Number: E-book Also Available in PrintISBN: 1587651920Publication Date: 2004
Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas [3 vols.] by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 E77 .N62 1996ISBN: 0521573920Publication Date: 1996This book provides the first comprehensive history of the Native Peoples of North America from their arrival in the western hemisphere to the present. It describes how Native Peoples have dealt with the environmental diversity of North America and have responded to the different European colonial regimes and national governments that have established themselves in recent centuries. It also examines the development of a pan-Indian identity since the nineteenth century and provides a comparison not found in other histories of how Native Peoples have fared in Canada and the United States.
