Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MGT 3353: Business Communication And Professional Development: Career and Job Guides

What Can I Do With This Major?

The Career Services Center at Texas State University-San Marcos provides a series of guides designed to help students explore careers related to their major or potential major.

Check out the guides and explore what careers, jobs, industries, professors, and work settings might be in your future.

What To Do

What to Do

Career Services Recommended Resources

Career OneStop - A comprehensive website for students and job seekers to explore career options, perform self-assessments on skills and interests, write resumes and cover letters, prepare for interviews, and search for jobs.

Films on Demand -  Video collections include Career & Job Search, Technical Education, Guidance & Counseling, Family & Consumer Science and a growing collection of individually selected titles in various fields.

Job Accelerator Database - Personalized, step-by-step job search assistance—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs. Create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Nationally recognized career handbook provides information about the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.

Onet - research detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers.

Suggested Resources

Find an Employer

Reference USA - use this database to look up employers.

Getting into Graduate School

Graduate School Information contains information on which schools offer what programs. 

Testing Databases take practice tests like the GRE, GMAT and more on line. 

Job Interview

Books on body language

Interview Books

Resume Books

Career Research at Alkek Library

The video does zoom in, or you can blow it up in the lower right hand corner.

Subject Guide