Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager. Do I need the Web or Desktop version?
A citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
Understanding a Journal Citation
REMEMBER: This is a works cited entry for a journal article. If you need to create a works cited entry for any other type of resource, check your Bedford Handbook for more information on what to include.
If you have a citation and need to find the article, start with the yellow Journal Title section. Enter the name of the periodical into the Periodical List to see where in the library you can access it.
MLA Style Guides
Alkek Library and RRC Library Services own several copies of both MLA publications listed below. Follow the links to find out where the books are located and if they're available to check out.
For more information about how MLA style works, check your Bedford Handbook.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
Call Number: PN147 .G444 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Citing Sources: Getting More Help
Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC)
Get in-person tutoring at SLAC, located on the 4th floor of Alkek Library. Check the website for hours and availability. SLAC also maintains a good Documentation
page for quick reference.
Texas State Writing Center
The Writing Center is located on the first floor of ASB North. You can get help with all types of writing, including papers, essays, and resumes. The Writing Center offers in-person and online tutoring (check their website for more information). Round Rock patrons can seek assistance from the Round Rock Writing Center