If you'd like to make an individual research appointment with a Librarian, you can submit your request online here: individual research consultations.
COVID-19 Update: The Interlibrary Loan unit at Texas State has resumed normal operations. However, due to many libraries still being closed and not lending physical items, it may be difficult or slower than usual to obtain some items. Please be patient!
This guide provides information and resources that will help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your academic research. Navigate between pages using the colored tabs above. Below is a brief description of what information you can find on each of the tabs in this guide.
Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching. This page will introduce you to some general reference databases as well as some pro/con databases to help you think about your topic in a larger context.
Start Your Research is a tool that will search the library catalog and selected databases at the same time. On this page, you'll find more information about using the Start Your Research tool and what kind of sources it can help you find, as well as tips for improving your search and getting more useful results.
For academic research assignments, you will be expected to find credible sources. Internet sources, while popular and easy to find using Google, can be difficult to analyze for credibility. You will need to evaluate any source you find in order to determine if it is current, objective, verifiable, and reliable.
This page contains useful tools to help you evaluate internet resources (or any resources) for credibility, authenticity, reliability and currency. It also contains useful tricks for searching Google for credible information. Keep in mind, information you find using Google is NOT considered academic or scholarly.
This page contains information about how to search for published journal articles, as well as other sources contained in databases. You can also find several suggested databases, including core resources for Religion & Philosophy, newspaper databases and other resources to support your research.
This page contains links to databases that you can use to search for court cases, including Supreme Court cases.
This page contains information about how to determine if a source is a scholarly or popular publication.
This page contains information on how to search for books and other materials in the library catalog. You can also learn more about how to use Interlibrary Loan to find materials the library doesn't own. Finally, check out the handy feed showing the newest Philosophy materials added to the library collection.
This page contains links to websites that will help you correctly format your citations in APA style. It also has some information about using a citation manager, such as Refworks or EndNote. Finally, you can find a variety of options for getting more citation and writing help on campus.