Search Tips
Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching.
AND: "adult education" AND programs
OR: hispanic* OR "mexican american*"
Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases: "adult development"
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
ADULT* will retrieve: adult, adulthood, adults, etc.
Remember to check database Subject terms for synonym words/phrases.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Wesley-Nero, S., & Davis, D. (2024). Integrated Professional Learning: Boundary-spanning graduate leadership education with principals and district leaders. Journal of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, 8, 1–24.
- Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Wesley-Nero, S., & Davis, D. (2024). Integrated Professional Learning: Boundary-spanning graduate leadership education with principals and district leaders. Journal of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, 8, 1–24.
- Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.