Skip to main content

ARTC 5342: Postmodernism: Databases & Articles

A course guide to library resources for Prof. Shelley Jackson's MFA Communication Design Students in Postmodernism and Typography.

Periodical List

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List

What is LinkSource?

LinkSource checks our other database to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:

Start Your Research Tool!

Try searching our Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials like images!

After you do an intial search in the box pictured below, look to the right to see related images

Suggested Art & Design Databases for Finding Articles & Images

Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.

Art and Design Databases

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.

Communication Studies Databases

Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories.

Image Databases

Also refer to the Library's full list of Image Databases. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images or see the Finding Images Research Guide.

Newspaper Databases

You could also check out our newspaper databases, especially the historical ones, for good resources on art. Newspaper articles from the time period of the work of art can be considered a primary source material.Exhibition catalogs from the time period of the art are primary sources too!

Newspaper databases can also good for finding articles about contemporary artists.

Worldcat - searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

Also search Dissertations and Theses Global for other theses and dissertations on your topic and to find literature reviews.

 

Finding Articles When You Have a Citation