Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Design Image Databases
This is a list of image database related to art and design, BUT if you need other types of images there are many more on the Image Databases page.
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda.
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. The Archive is licensed for educational use. Coverage: Photographs (1826-present), audio clips (1920’s-present), news stories (1997-present).
Art Images for College Teaching
Images of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture photographed by the Allan T. Kohl, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Over a million images of artworks, photography (artistic and documentary), and the built environment (architectural structures and monuments).
Coverage: Dates vary.
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture
Architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Digital resources stored in over 1100 open access repositories all over the world.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Sociology. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, underground publications.
Art. Includes creation, presentation, discussion & preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. Features ArtBase, an archive of new media art including some 2500 projects, discussion and critical writing posts from 1996 to present. Users may set up individual accounts at the site to subscribe to Rhizome's email lists, browse recently added content, post to rhizome discussion lists, & submit projects to ArtBase.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center
Art, Political History, Natural History, Folklife, Culture, Air and Space, Humanities, Photographs, Horticulture.
Online portfolio of Brtitish visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. Offers teaching resources based around the VADS image collections, browsing by collection, or by the themes of applied arts, architecture, design, fine art, and media.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 33,000 reproductions.
Over 100,000 images free for non-profit educational purposes. The images are searchable by art form, style, nationality, city/site, historical era, material, technique or medium. You can also browse the images by continent and topic, or by subject (“portfolio”). Global coverage & includes all areas of visual imagery.
Finding Images in Image Databases and Books
Please see the Finding Images Research Guide for more complete information on finding images, copyright, and presentation tools & techniques.
- You can also check the library catalog for art books with images. Just use the keyword for the type of image you want and an abbreviation like ill or illus for illustration. Example: birds and ill or type in birds and illus. Other words for finding images that you can use in catalog searches are pictoral works, illustration, or "___ in art", for example "flowers in art".
- If you do a keyword search under “catalogue raisonne” you will get all the books of the complete works (catalogue raisonne) of particular artists.
- "Visual communication", “advertising,” and “marketing” are subject headings that can have image books. For example, if you do a keyword search using "advertising and annual” you will see all the titles we have that are advertising awarded images and campaigns (Annual Clio, National Addy, Graphis, Art Director's Annual, Photo Annual, Major marketing campaigns annual). If you look under the subject heading “Advertising Campaign – Periodicals”, you will see others.
Introduction to Using Artstor Video