Art & Design Image Databases
This is a list of image database related to art and design, BUT if you need other types of images there are many more on the Image Databases page.
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new windowImages of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture that can be used in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor platform will be retired on August 1, 2024. All existing and new content has been moved toJSTOR
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new windowEssays on ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. 2000 BC to present.
- OAIster This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, books, texts, audio files, videos, images, and datasets stored in over 1,100 open access repositories all over the world.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- rhizome.org This link opens in a new window
Exhibition, creation, and preservation of of digital contemporary art. 1996 to present.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center This link opens in a new window
Search millions of items from the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library, research holdings and collections.
- VADS This link opens in a new windowOnline portfolio of British visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images free for use in education.
- Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new windowA virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods. 1000-1850.
- WorldImages This link opens in a new window
Large, global collection of images free for non-profit, educational purposes. Includes all areas of visual imagery.
Finding Images in Image Databases and Books
You can see a list of all the library's image databases from the "By Type" drop down menu on the Research Databases page. Or use the list to the left here.
You can also check the library catalog for art books with images. Just use the keyword for the type of image you want and an abbreviation like ill or illus for illustration. Example: birds and ill or type in birds and illus. Other words for finding images that you can use in catalog searches are pictoral works, illustration, or "___ in art", for example "flowers in art".
We do own the Illustration Index, Sculpture Index, and Havlice's World Painting Index (tells you what book has a reproduction or illustration of known works by known artists) and Martha Moss's Photography Books Index, volumes I and II, a subject guide to photo anthologies. If you do a keyword search under “catalogue raisonne” you will get all the books of the complete works (catalogue raisonne) of particular artists.
Streaming Media
The library has access to large amounts of streaming media, including videos on art history, aesthetics, architecture, and many other art related topics. We also have streaming audio databases too.
See all Films & Media Collections
Contains Art & Architecture videos that you can make clips from for embeding into presentations
Introduction to Using Artstor
Online Feminist Resources
n.paradoxa has just launched a MOOC (a mass open online course) on contemporary art (post-1970) and feminism.
The site is:- http://nparadoxa.com
femtechnet define this model of learning as a DOCC (rather than a MOOC) because the documents link to many resources online and the lessons are designed to be read anytime at the user's own pace. (A DOCC= Distributed Open Collaborative Course - a feminist retooling of the popular genre of networked learning called MOOCs).
