It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IE 5398 C: Data Intensive Analysis and Simulation: Suggested Databases
This guide was created for Dr. Jimenez's Industrial Engineering class.
Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.
The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.
What is Full Text Finder?
Look for a link like this one in the results list:
Full Text Finder is a process that will search all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available.
If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder results page will give you a direct link to it.
If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:
First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a print copy of that journal instead of an electronic version. Learn more about requesting access to print journals in this FAQ.
If the library does not own a print copy, request a copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
After you click on any of the links below, please click on the the database title link to access the database.
ACI Symposium PapersSpecial Publications from American Concrete Institute symposiums. An SP may include papers from convention sessions, papers submitted but not presented, and other papers dealing with the same subject matter received by the Institute and approved by the sponsoring committee for inclusion.
Applied Science & Technology SourceAcoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Automotive Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication & Information Technology, Computer Databases & Software, Construction, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Engineering & Biomedical Materials, Energy Resources & Research, Environmental Engineering, Fire & Fire Prevention, Food & Food Industry, Geology, Industrial Engineering, Machine Learning, Machinery, Marine Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgy, Mineralogy, Mining Engineering, Neural Networks, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Optical & Neural Computing, Petroleum & Gas, Physics, Plastics, Robotics, Solid State Technology, Space Science, Textile Industry & Fabrics, Transportation, Waste Management, Other Industrial & Mechanical Arts. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983)
Coverage: Indexing 1913 to present. Select full text 1965 to present.
ASTM COMPASSEngineering, Technology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies. ASTM COMPASS includes over 13,000 active ASTM standards and historical versions, all published manuals, technical publications, symposia papers, journals, monographs, data series, and research reports covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment, and more.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- ScienceCited conference proceedings in science with enhanced coverage of books and meeting abstracts, especially in key areas such as engineering, chemistry, physics, and biology. Part of Web of Science.
1990 to present
Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsInteractive database of statistics that enables users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
Engineering Village 2Access Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index), INSPEC, GeoRef and GeoBase.
1785 to present
IEEE XploreApproximately a third of the world's current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards.
1988 to present; select content back to 1950.
NTIS: National Technical Information ServiceAdministration & Management, Aeronautics & Aerodynamics, Agriculture & Food, Astronomy & Astrophysics, Energy, Behavior & Society, Biomedical Technology & Human Factors Engineering, Building Industry Technology, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communications, Computers, Energy, Environmental Pollution & Control, Health Care, Industrial & Mechanical Engineering, Library & Information Sciences, Manufacturing Technology, Materials Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine & Biology, Military Sciences, Natural Resources, Ocean Sciences, Photography, Physics, and Transportation.
ScienceDirectOver 4,000 Elsevier science journals and tens of thousands of books covering a wide variety of subjects in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health & medicine, social sciences & humanities. This platform does not support Internet Explorer.
ScopusScience, Technology, Medicine, Social Science, Arts & Humanities. Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research. With Scopus you can locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. Tutorials and quick reference guides will help you get started.
Full English language collection from 2005-present; numerous book series from 1995-present.
Thomas RegisterResource for finding suppliers of industrial products and services in North America.
Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library Full Collection that provides full text access to over 1300 Wiley and Blackwell journals.
1997 to present, with select titles back to volume 1.
Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.