Skip to Main Content

CS 7300: Introduction to Research in Computer Science

A guide to library resources to support CS 7300 with Dr. Ngu.

Getting EndNote

EndNote 20 is now available! 

EndNote 20 will have a visual upgrade but its functionality will remain mostly the same as X9, so you can continue to use EndNote X9 and EndNote Online until you decide to upgrade. Your existing library will transfer over whenever you choose to install the updated software.

Personal Computers  |  Texas State-owned Mac computers  |  Texas State-owned Windows computers  |  EndNote Web

For installation questions, contact ITAC at (512) 245-4822 or email them at itac@txstate.edu

Some Windows users have reported that they get an error after downloading the software installer in which the PC prevents an unrecognized app from running. Contact ITAC for assistance, or follow these instructions:

Parts of a Citation

Image shows parts of a citation highlighted in different colors (author, article, etc), then it shows 2 sample citations with the corresponding parts highlighted in that color.

Above you see an image showing samples of ACM and IEEE citation.

Here are some observations:

  1. Citations are numbered by the order they appear in your paper.
    • Not the author's last name.
  2. Authors always come first in a citation.
    • Note that in IEEE you abbreviate author given names, while in ACM you spell them out. 
    • Also note that both conventions use given (first) name then surname (last name). 
  3. Article/paper titles are usually in quotes, but not in ACM.
  4. Source titles are usually in italics
  5. Include as many details available - year, volume, issue, page numbers, etc. 
    • Purpose is to make it as EASY as possible to find the article.
  6. Include a DOI if available. If not, include a PERMALINK or a Publisher URL.
    • DOIs are permanent and registered as a standard, so they're first option. 
    • Permalinks are the next best thing.
    • A URL is the last option.

Look for a library guide on your citation style for a quick review, but always go to the source to make sure. Especially when publishing in a journal, there are many variations journal to journal so you must check the journal's specific requirements.

Citation Managers

Citation managers are great tools for organizing your library research - using one is highly recommended for graduate students.  University Libraries supports EndNote, but you may choose a different one.  This page is mostly about EndNote with a little information about Zotero. 

For more information about different citation managers, see the Citation Manager Guide. 

To compare different Citation Managers, see this guide by University of California Irvine Libraries.

EndNote 20

Exporting References Databases & Importing to EndNote

Some databases will let you export from your search directly into EndNote, some databases will require you to export them and then import them into EndNote.

If you prefer Zotero, see this X (formerly Twitter) thread for some great support.

From Google Scholar:

  1. Click on "Cite" at the bottom of the entry.
  2. Choose your format at bottom of Cite list to EXPORT the citation.  Using EndNote? Choose EndNote.
  3. For EndNote DESKTOP: Open EndNote Desktop, and open the file.  It should open in EndNote.
  4. For EndNote WEB: click Collect > Import Reference, choose the file.
    • For Import Option - it should be the same as the way you EXPORTED.  For EndNote, choose EndNote Import.  (If you chose BibTeX as your export option, choose BibTex as your import option.)
    • For To - save to the group of your choice.

From Start Your Research and other databases:

Some databases allow you to import citations directly into EndNote Web.  Other databases will require you to download files and import them into EndNote Desktop or EndNote Web.  Please note!  Whatever export option you choose for download has a specific file type associated with it.  When you import it into EndNote, you must choose that file type to import.

  1. After searching, choose an article from your list.
  2. In the right column, choose Export.
  3. Import to EndNote WEB:
    • Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web.
    • You will be asked to sign into your EndNote Web account if you are not already.
    • Citations will show up in your Unfiled References folder.
    • IF THERE IS NO OPTION FOR DIRECT EXPORT...
      • Choose Direct Export in RIS Format. 
      • Save the .ris file (or your choice of export file) on your desktop.
      • In EndNote Web, click Collect > Import Reference, choose the file. 
      • For Import Option - choose RefMan RIS. (If you used a different export option you must choose that option for importing into EndNote.)
  4. For EndNote DESKTOP:
    • Choose Direct Export in RIS Format
    • Open EndNote Desktop (or Zotero)
    • Open the .ris file and it will open the EndNote Desktop.
  5. FOR ZOTERO:
    • Choose Direct Export in RIS Format
    • Open Zotero Desktop
    • Open the .ris file and it will open in Zotero Desktop.
    • NOTE: if you download the Zotero Connector browser extension, .ris files will open automatically in Zotero.

Other databases have other options for downloading research results.  You may need to download in a different file format, save it, and then upload it to EndNote in that file format. 

Exporting BibTeX from EndNote OR Zotero

Exporting EndNote citations in BibTeX:

  1. Go to the Format tab and select Export References.
  2. In the drop-down menu, choose the folder that contains the references you'd like to export.
  3. For the Export style, choose BibTeX Export, then click Save.

Exporting Zotero citations in BibTeX:

  1. Select the library you wish to export to BibTex in Zotero
  2. From Zotero toolbar dropdown menu, select Export Library
  3. On the next screen, choose format BibTex, and click OK

Need it as a .bib file?

  • Open the file. Go to the File menu and select Save Page As. Change the name of the file to yourfilename.bib and save it to the same folder that contains your LaTeX files.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: See Overleaf's information regarding BibTex and bibliographies.

EndNote 20 Features

  • Search hundreds of online resources for references and PDFs

  • Find full text for references in one click

  • Read, review, annotate and search PDFs

  • Create rules to automatically organize references as you work

  • Keep your data accurate with automatic reference and link updating

  • Share a library or just a portion with new group collaboration options

  • Provide write or read only access to your library

  • Build your bibliography using the latest reference types

  • Ensure bibliographic accuracy with refreshed journal and referencing styles

  • Track your teammates’ changes and view their activity on your shared library

  • Access research from your desktop, online, or your iPad

EndNote Training Materials

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web in our Canvas modules.

Click on the links below to view the modules in Canvas. The modules do not require a log-in, but you must enroll in the course using the second link to save the course in your Canvas dashboard and to be able to take the comprehension check quiz.