Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 1320: Ethics and Society: Articles & Databases

This guide was created for Jonathan Lollar's PHIL 1320 class.

Where to Search

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

  • Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!

  • Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.

  • The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.

Periodical List


LinkSource
 checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:

undefined

Which databases should I use?

Find the full list of databases on the Research Databases page. Here are a few suggested databases for typical ENG 1320 assignments:


Multi-Subject: Try these databases as a starting point for your research or if your topic doesn't fit into any one subject.


Pro/Con Issues & Hot Topics: If you're writing about current events or arguing for a particular opinion or viewpoint, search in these databases.


Literature and Languages: Use these databases if you need to do research on literature, film, communications, or a related topic.