Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IE 4370: Probabilistic Operations Research: Where to Search

This guide was created for Dr. Sasha Dong's IE 4370 class.

Where to Search

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

  • Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!

  • Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.

  • The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.

What is Full Text Finder?

Look for a link like this one in the results list:

Full Text Finder is a process that will search all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available.

If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder results page will give you a direct link to it.

If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:

  1. First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a print copy of that journal instead of an electronic version. Learn more about requesting access to print journals in this FAQ.
  2. If the library does not own a print copy, request a copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.

Finding articles by title

IE 4370 Assignment Search Keywords

For your IE 4370 assignment, consider using a combination of these search terms:

 

food, "food banks", donations, relief, (emergency OR disaster)

 

Examples:

["food banks" AND logistics]

[(emergency OR disaster) AND food AND donations]

["food banks" AND data]

Suggested databases for IE 4370

Periodical List

Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.

(click on the image to see a larger version)