Search for Books & eBooks
- Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your Research
Books, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google Books
Searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCat
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
eBook Collections
In addition to searching the library catalog for ebooks, you can search the library's ebook collections. Select collections are below. See all the library's ebook collections here.
-
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive physical therapy resource with interactive features, integrating textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, NPTE exam self-assessment tools, USMLE review, and a cadaver dissection tool. Updated regularly.
-
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Discover peer-reviewed monographs and collections published under an open access licence. Multiple disciplines and languages are covered.
-
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive physical therapy resource for educators and students at every stage of their careers. Updated regularly.
-
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information about physical activity, fitness, exercise, coaching, and sport. Includes the Library Core Collection and the Physical and Health Education collection.
-
SAGE Reference & Academic Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and ebooks published by Sage and CQ Press. 1983 to present.
-
Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
English language books published by Springer, covering a variety of subjects: 2005 to present. Some book series and Lecture Notes: 1995 to 2023.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAcademic, science, technology, and medical books from Taylor & Francis and its imprints, CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.
Core Collection Ebook Titles
-
Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, Seventh Edition
by
The #1 most trusted evidence-based text in orthopaedic physical therapy The definitive text for orthopedic students, Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment. The text offers the perfect balance in its coverage of the continuum of care, emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features. Evidence-based and written by a prominent practicing therapist, this is an essential resource for physical therapy students and practitioners. Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, Seventh Edition includes: * 1,200+ photos and illustrations depict orthopaedic techniques * Videos on testing and method techniques available on AccessPhysiotherapy * Essential information on balance, pain assessment, gait, and concussions * Incorporates the APTA Practice Patterns to address certain dysfunctions
ISBN: 9781266150388Publication Date: 2025-07-24 -
Evidence-Based Physical Therapy for the Pelvic Floor
by
Call Number: RG484ISBN: 9780702044434Publication Date: 2014-12-10 -
Foundations of clinical research : applications to evidence-based practice
by
The text of this fourth edition has maintained its dual perspectives. It is designed for those who do research to generate new knowledge and examine theories and for those who want to be critical consumers of evidence to inform clinical decision-making. All of us need to be able to critically evaluate research reports to inform practice and further study. The scope of the text allows it to fulfill different needs at different times. This edition will continue to serve this wide audience. It incorporates several important contemporary themes, including the application of evidence-based practice (EBP) for clinical decision-making, the imperative of interprofessional collaboration, the implications of translational research, and the focus of healthcare on quality of life, meaningful outcomes, and patient values. These directions and priorities continue to define research philosophies that guide the conduct of clinical inquiry, the types of questions that are deemed important, and how they influence advances in measurement and analysis techniques.
Call Number: R853.C55 P67 2020 E-bookISBN: 9780803661165Publication Date: 2020 -
Fundamentals of musculoskeletal imaging
by
The goal of the is book has always been to serve as the key to the fundamentals of imaging, sufficient for any physical therapist to optimize their interactions with imaging. Despite similar educational preparation, there exists wide variability in a physical therapist's dealings with imaging. Whatever setting you practice in, this book will serve as a primer, a reference, or a decipher of diagnostic imaging to enable you to provide the best care for the patient.
Call Number: RC925.7 .M356 2021 E-bookISBN: 9780803676039Publication Date: 2021 -
Guccione's geriatric physical therapy
by
Offering a comprehensive look at physical therapy science and practice, Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy, 4th Edition is a perfect resource for both students and practitioners alike. Year after year, this text is recommended as the primary preparatory resource for the Geriatric Physical Therapy Specialization exam. And this new fourth edition only gets better. Content has been thoroughly revised to keep you up to date on the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. Five new chapters have also been added to this edition to help you learn how to better manage common orthopedic, cardiopulmonary, and neurologic conditions; become familiar with functional outcomes and assessments; and better understand the psychosocial aspects of aging. In all, you can rely on Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy to help you effectively care for today's aging patient population.
Call Number: RC953.8.P58 E-bookISBN: 9780323610155Publication Date: 2020 -
Guide to evidence-based physical therapist practice
by
Call Number: RM700 .J49 2023 E-bookISBN: 9781284247558Publication Date: 2023 -
Improving functional outcomes in physical rehabilitation
by
Major updates to the textbook and multimedia resources provide the reader with an engaging environment to improve clinical decision-making and clinical skill application. These resources are designed to present an integrated model of therapeutic intervention applicable to a wide spectrum of adult patients engaged in physical rehabilitation
Call Number: RM700 .O88 2022 E-bookISBN: 9781719640923Publication Date: 2022 -
Joint range of motion and muscle length testing
by
Call Number: RC932 .R435 2017 E-bookISBN: 9780323291552Publication Date: 2017 -
Measurement of joint motion : a guide to goniometry
by
Measure joint range of motion with the manual that set the standard. Here is all of the guidance you need to identify impairments successfully and assess rehabilitation status effectively. Thoroughly updated and revised to reflect today's most current and complete research, the 5th Edition of this classic book retains the unique features that have set this manual apart as the reference of choice. For each measurable joint in the body, you'll find a consistent, easy-to-follow format and exceptional photographs that depict range of motion and alignment, making it easy for you to visualize the examination and technique for each joint motion and muscle length test.
Call Number: RD734 .N67 2016 E-bookISBN: 9780803658479Publication Date: 2016 -
Observational Gait Analysis
by
Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide is a pedagogical manual and video library that provides a thorough review of key characteristics of normal gait that are important for observational clinical gait analysis. This visual guide by Drs. Jan Adams and Kay Cerny has unique features to further the understanding of examination and evaluation of the subject's gait, such as:* Normal and pathological gait are described using figures and graphs, along with gait videos and 3D graphs to show the kinematics and kinetics described* Functional tools used as outcome measures to evaluate gait performance in the community environment including Dynamic Gait Test, Six Minute Walk Test, Ten Meter Walk Test, to name a fewIn addition to the unique features, the pathological gait section presents descriptions of gait deviations included in a new clinical Observational Gait Analysis (OGA) tool, along with probable causes for each of the deviations. Case studies are presented using this new tool for examining and evaluating the subject's gait.Bonus!Students will be able to watch antero-posterior and lateral videos of individuals with gait deviations, complete the OGA tool to document their gait examination, and evaluate their examination results. They will then validate their observational skills by comparing their results to the text's case study OGA results and the skeletal model and motion and moment graphs completed by 3D instrumented analysis of the same individual. The student will then compare their evaluation of causes of deviations to that included in the case study.Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide will be the go-to resource for clinical tools to analyze gait for physical therapy and prosthetic and orthotic students and clinicians, as well as other professionals interested in the clinical analysis of persons with gait disability.
Call Number: QP303 .A33 2018 E-bookISBN: 9781630910426Publication Date: 2018-02-01 -
Primary care for the physical therapist : examination and triage
by
Call Number: RM705 .P756 2021e E-bookISBN: 9780323638982Publication Date: 2021 -
Therapeutic exercise : foundations and techniques by Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelinesCall Number: RM725 .K53 2018 E-bookISBN: 9781786847447Publication Date: 2018
Core Collection Print Book Titles
-
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription
by
The flagship title from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, this critical handbook delivers scientifically based, evidence-informed standards to prepare you for success. Providing succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients, this trusted manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may counsel patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators. The extensively updated eleventh edition has been reorganized for greater clarity and integrates the latest Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans. UPDATED! Integrated guidelines, including the 2018 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, reflect the most current, clinically sound approaches to exercise testing and prescription. NEW! Chapter on conditions that affect the brain familiarizes students with specific strategies for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, autism, depression and anxiety. UPDATED! Enhanced organization helps students find information quickly and easily. FITT (Frequency, Intensity, Time, Type) boxes make locating critical exercise prescription information quick and easy. Revised appendices integrate valuable information on ECGs, medication and emergency management where it is most relevant. A new appendix on metabolic equations is included. Additional boxes, tables, and figures highlight important concepts and approaches at a glance.
Call Number: RC684.E9 A37 2022ISBN: 9781975150181Publication Date: 2021-04-16 -
Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System
by
With its focus on the normal and abnormal mechanical interactions between the muscles and joints of the body, Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System: Foundations for Rehabilitation, 3rd Edition provides a foundation for the practice of physical rehabilitation. This comprehensive, research-based core text presents kinesiology as it relates to physical rehabilitation in a clinically relevant and accessible manner. It provides students and clinicians with the language of human movement - and acts as a bridge between basic science and clinical management. Full-color anatomic and kinesiologic illustrations clearly demonstrate the anatomy, functional movement, and biomechanical principles underlying movement; and dynamic new video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. More than 900 high-quality illustrations provide you with the visual accompaniments you need to comprehend the material. Clinical Connections boxes at the end of each chapter in Sections II through IV highlight or expand upon a particular clinical concept associated with the kinesiology covered in the chapter. Special Focus boxes interspersed throughout the text provide numerous clinical examples that demonstrate why kinesiologic information is needed. Critical thinking questions challenge you to review or reinforce the main concepts contained within each chapter. Evidence-based approach emphasizes the importance of research in physical therapy decision-making. Evolve site for students comes with video clips, answers to study questions, and references linked to Medline. Evolve site for instructors includes an image collection from the text, teaching tips, and lab activities. NEW! Kinesiology of Running chapter covers the biomechanics of running. NEW! Video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. NEW! All-new content on the pelvic floor. NEW! Thoroughly updated references emphasize the evidence-based presentation of information in the text. NEW! QR codes linked to videos for easy viewing on mobile devices. NEW! Pageburst enhanced edition allows you to access multimedia content from the eBook without going to another website.
Call Number: QP303 .N465 2017ISBN: 9780323287531Publication Date: 2016-11-14 -
Motor Control
by
Motor Control, 5th Edition remains the only book available that bridges the gap between current and emerging motor control research and its application to clinical practice. Written by leading experts in the field, this now classic resource prepares readers to effectively examine and treat patients with problems related to postural control, mobility, and upper extremity function using today�s evidence-based best practices. To make information easier to understand and follow, chapters follow a standard format: normal control process issues, age-related issues, research on abnormal function, and clinical applications of current research, including methods for examining and treating patients with motor dyscontol in each area. Featuring new pedagogy, new videos, and separate lifespan chapters on development of mobility and aging and mobility, the Fifth Edition reflects the current explosion of research in the field of motor control. NEW to this edition: - Extended Knowledge boxes present material for more advanced students and practitioners. - Additional case study videos include a child with CP, a longitudinal case study on an adult with acute stroke, and normal functioning in an 8-year-old child and 70-year-old adult. - The chapter on life span perspective of mobility has been broken into two: one on development of mobility and the other on aging and mobility.
Call Number: QP301 .S535 2017ISBN: 9781496302632Publication Date: 2016-03-23 -
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination
by
Offering a thorough, highly illustrated review of the musculoskeletal physical exam, this practical guide covers relevant anatomy, pathoanatomy, and special tests using the well-known art of Dr. Frank H. Netter as well as clinical photographs. Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination: An Evidence-Based Approach, 4th Edition, provides the information you need to assess the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Summary tables and carefully selected references highlight best available evidence, providing a practical resource for the busy student and clinician. Provides up-to-date, actionable summaries of available evidence so you can quickly evaluate the effectiveness of clinical tests, review recent studies, and determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. Includes more than 25 videos showing movement for select tests, helping you get the most clinically significant information from the orthopaedic examination. Presents classic Netter artwork and anatomy/biomechanics tables that enhance your understanding of the orthopedic anatomy and pathology of each joint. Uses a practical, tabular format that provides quick access to test reliability and diagnostic utility, study quality, anatomy and biomechanics, and summary recommendations for applying evidence in practice. Features an assessment of study quality (QUADAS) appendix and color-coded icons identifying study quality that draw your attention to top-quality studies and help you understand why some studies were included and others omitted. Adds a scale to reliability tables, making it easy to focus on approaches and tests with the highest reliability, and includes QAREL (Quality Appraisal for Reliability Studies) checklists for each reliability study. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD734.5.P58 C59 2022ISBN: 9780323695336Publication Date: 2021-03-22 -
Orthopedic Physical Examination Tests
by
This is the field's most comprehensive evidence-based guide to clinical tests for orthopedic physical examination. ORTHOPEDIC PHYSICAL EXAMINATION TESTS: AN EVIDENCE-BASED APPROACH, 2/e presents complete explanations and photography visualizing all commonly used physical exam tests for all body regions, including both neurological screening tools and conventional tests. The quality of research supporting each test is assessed using the QUADAS quality instrument, which analyzes the extent to which bias may have influenced diagnostic values. Diagnostic values are reported wherever they exist, and summary "Utility" scores are provided for each test based on the authors' interpretation of the research and their use of the tests in clinical practice. This edition adds 200 new tests, presents valuable clusters of tests, and contains two entirely new chapters: one on visceral assessment and medical screening, and another on temporomandibular examination.
ISBN: 9780132544788Publication Date: 2011-12-30 -
Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries
by
Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries, Fourth Edition With Online Video, offers comprehensive coverage of evidence-based therapies for rehabilitation of musculoskeletal injuries. The information aligns with the Board of Certification's Role Delineation Study/Practice Analysis, Sixth Edition, and the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education's Athletic Training Education Competencies, Fifth Edition, and is a vital resource for students preparing for examinations as well as professionals in the field who wish to stay informed of the latest research. Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries, Fourth Edition, applies evidence-based research and clinical experiences of top practitioners in the field to optimize the care of musculoskeletal injuries and provides students and practitioners with solid fundamentals in development of rehabilitation programs. The content of this fourth edition has been significantly updated and revitalized to include all modalities that coincide with BOC requirements and offers the latest in contemporary science in the field. Further updates include the following: * New online video that corresponds to modalities discussed throughout the text, directly demonstrating how to apply techniques to individual patients * A new chapter on mechanobiology that provides new understanding of the effects of movement and activity on cell function * A new chapter on the application of exercise as a stimulus for tissue repair * Additional information on the principles and clinical applications of cold, heat, electrotherapy, laser, and ultrasound * Updated and revamped case studies and guided scenarios that apply all modalities found throughout the book to real-world situations Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries, Fourth Edition With Online Video, contains many learning features to assist comprehension, including chapter objectives, key terms and a glossary, sidebars with clinical application of current concepts, and chapter summaries. Additionally, access to 21 online videos of applying modalities in clinical practice will help students better understand concepts from the text. For instructors, a robust set of ancillaries is provided, including a fully updated tesst package and instructor guide, as well as a newly added presentation package plus image bank to assist with lecture preparation. Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries, Fourth Edition, explains how to apply each therapy and addresses why and when a therapeutic intervention can improve the outcome of care. Students and professionals alike will develop stronger decision-making skills when determining the safest and most effective use of each treatment method.
ISBN: 9781450469012Publication Date: 2015-11-23
