Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Texas CPM Program: Finding Government Information

This course guide was created for Dr. Balanoff's CPM class.

Government Information Resources

This page lists resources for finding federal, state and local government information. Resources include the Library's Government Information collection and databases as well as federal and Texas state government websites. There is also a tip on using Google to find government information. 

Government Information Collection at Alkek Library

Alkek Library is a federal and state depository library.

The Government Information unit maintains a large collection of U.S. and State of Texas documents in a variety of formats including print, electronic and microfiche.

See this Government Information guide for more information.

*Note that Alkek stopped receiving Texas state government publications in 2011 when funding for wide distribution of state publications ceased.

Resources for Texas state government publications

Texas State Agencies Catalog  - use to identify call numbers for documents that might be found in the Library's Government Information collection; also shows documents available online.

Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL) - locates information from more than 180 Texas state agency web servers.

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts - state budget and finance reports and local government reports.

Library Catalog search strategies for finding government documents

To see a portion of the state and federal government publications in the Library's Government Information collection, search the Library Catalog and change Search Entire Collection to Government Documents in the drop-down menu.

OR

Use the Library Catalog's Advanced Search option and limit Collections to Gov Documents - Federal or Gov Documents - Texas

Here are sample federal government publications of interest listed in the catalog and available in print or online:

Because a majority of documents in the Library's Government Information collection are not cataloged, consult the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications listed below for call numbers (SuDoc numbers) of documents that could be found in the Library's collection or could be accessible online.

Contact the Government Information unit for help accessing publications in the Library's collection.

Resources for federal and state government publications

Start Your Research

Use Start Your Research to find a lot of what the library has. The results will show books, ebooks, journal and newspaper articles, streaming audio and video. *Please note that it will not search all of the library's databases.

Limit your search results to Primary Source to find government documents. 

In addition, "Congressional Budget Office" can be used as a search phrase.

Internet search tip!

A simple alternative to searching specific databases for government information--type the following into a search engine, like Google:

site:.gov

then add your topic:

site:.gov jfk assassination

Find federal, state, and local government information

USA.gov searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public.