Identify Peer-Reviewed Journals
Already found an article in a journal and wondering if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed?
Search for the title or ISSN in Ulrichsweb, a database that identifies which journals are peer reviewed/refereed.
The title will have this icon, 
,that looks like a referee's jersey next to it if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed.
Serials Directory is another way to see if a journal is peer reviewed. Search by journal title or ISSN.
If a journal is peer reviewed, you'll see in the journal record Peer Reviewed: Yes.
If the journal is not peer reviewed, you will not see in the journal record Peer Reviewed: Yes. It will be missing from the record.
Suggested CD Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowLarge database indexing publications worldwide pertaining to communication, advertising, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies. 1915 to present.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
- speechBITE This link opens in a new window
Index of evidence-based practices for speech pathologists, including systematic reviews, trials, clinical practice guidelines and more.
More CD Databases
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
See a complete list of Communication Disorders databases.
See databases available for these subjects: Health and Medicine, Education, Psychology and Counseling.
See all the databases that you have access to. Search by database name, search alphabetically or browse databases by subject.
More Databases: Citation Analysis and Dissertations & Theses
If you have found a relevant article, see which articles have cited it by searching in Scopus or Web of Science. This is one way to find more relevant articles.
See more Citation Analysis databases. They cover different disciplines.
Looking for another way to find relevant articles? Search dissertations and theses on your topic to see which references they used.