It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GEO 4340: Fundamental Themes in Geography: Finding Articles
Your professors will want you to use high-quality sources for your projects. Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are excellent sources. Peer-reviewed means that experts in that field reviewed the articles before publication to check for such things as good methodology, relevancy, and impact to the field. Many of our databases let you check a box to limit the results to peer-reviewed articles.
If you searched for articles on the internet, you will most likely be asked to pay $35+ per article. However, you can access these for free through our library website! We subscribe to over 90,000 scholarly journals.
Start Your Research is a search box in the middle of the library website that searched most (but not all!) of our databases. It also searches our library catalog. This is a really good option for a multidisciplinary topic. For example, if you are researching a climatological phenomenon's impact on health, you may find results not only from climatology journals, but also health journals.
5,300 U.S. and international news sources from 140 countries on six continents. It features most major U.S. news sources circulation. A great resource for TEXAS newspapers
Varies by title.
NewsBank Map Search
Research Databases Research databases are mostly collections of scholarly journal articles, but some are not. Some contain newspaper articles, datasets, etc. We have organized the databases by title, by subject, and by type.
Earth Sciences. Journals and archives of more than 45 top-tier digital journals from 28 global publishers (120,000+ articles) and an integrated version of the GeoRef abstract and index database containing more than 3.3 million records. This is a collaborative effort of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, American Geosciences Institute , Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology, and Society of Exploration Geophysicists.
Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Science, Arts & Humanities. Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research. With Scopus you can locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. Tutorials and quick reference guides will help you get started.
Over 4,000 Elsevier science journals and tens of thousands of books covering a wide variety of subjects in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health & medicine, social sciences & humanities. This platform does not support Internet Explorer.
Web of ScienceComprehensive citation index covering the leading scholarly literature around the world. Contains Journal Citation Reports for both Science and Social Science, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science and Social Science & Humanities, Book Citation Index- Science and Social Science & Humanities, Current Chemicial Reactions, Index Chemicus, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Medline (1950- ), and Zoological Record.