Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AG 4307: Professional Development in Agriculture: Finding Articles | Databases

Periodical List


LinkSource
 checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:

undefined

Search Tips

Search by keywords and small phrases.

Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching. What's Boolean?

  • AND
  • OR
  • NOT

Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases. 

Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or scholarly journals. 

Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.

AGRICULTUR* will retrieve: 
agriculture, agricultural

Try using the database’s subject terms. Those are listed in the database’s thesaurus, or they may be listed near the article abstract.

What is Scholarly | Peer-Reviewed?

Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use.  Many databases offer the option to limit to "Scholarly Journals" or "Peer Reviewed".  If you're not sure if a journal is considered scholarly/peer-reviewed, check Ulrichs by looking up the title of the journal. 

What is a peer-reviewed journal? 

In peer-reviewed (refereed) journals, the articles are written by experts and are reviewed by several other experts in the field before the article is published in the journal in order to ensure the article's quality.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Citation Management

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

 

  • Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
  • Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
  • Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.