Media Collections at Alkek
If you are looking for audio recordings or videos of plays, you can search the Library Catalog by the play title, by author, or by main actor.
Media content (videos, cassettes, DVDs, and CDs) at Alkek can be found on the 3rd floor.
Checking out Media
You might also consider checking out films from Alkek's media collection to listen to various dialects and accents as well.
Search the catalog to see if we have a certain film in our collections.
Loan periods for Media range from 1 week to 2 weeks.
Accents & Dialects
Check the Library Catalog for more Accent and Dialect tapes and books.
You might also want to search by Region or by Dialect name.
Here is a list of selected Accent and Dialect resources in different formats.
- Acting with an AccentAudiocassette tape. Can request delivery from the ARC.
- The dialect handbook : learning, researching, and performing a dialect roleA book featuring The Dialect Directory (p. 103-164) -- A listing of hundreds of feature films, TV series, audiotapes, books, CDs, and other resources for researching 30 different cultures and dialects.
- Dialect monologues / Karshner, Stern.A sound recording of various monologues in different dialects.
- Speech Accent Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains audio speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds, including native and non-native speakers of English.
Streaming Video Accent/Dialect Resources
Search Films on Demand, a database of streaming video in various topics, for Accent & Dialect resources.
Reference Resources
Dictionary of American Regional English
Focuses on the regional aspects of language across the united states, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. 1965 to present.