It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHIL 5314: American Philosophy: Suggested Databases
This is the course guide for Dr. Olga Gerhart's American Philosophy 5314 class
Area studies, theology, religion, performing arts, literary & political criticism, language & literature, music, philosophy, history, and classical studies, area studies, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, and journalism.
Indexing from 1907, full text from 1942 to present
Covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
Multi-subject. World's largest collection of full text theses and dissertations. Contains 1.7 million full-text graduate works and 3.8 million abstracted or indexed records along with the ability to cross-search with other ProQuest resources.
Multidisciplinary. The only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities originally printed by H.W. Wilson Co. as the index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. This reproduction provides full page images of the original print index, and may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
This database combines content from Thomson Gale's 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World :The Goldsmiths’-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926.
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1819. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based upon records for Charles Evans American Bibliography and Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker's American Bibliography.
American News. This is a searchable and continually growing database of over 2000 local U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Selected pages represent a state's regional history, geographic coverage, and events in a particular time period.
Coverage: Full text 1789-1922, indexing from 1690 to present
African American history & culture from its African origins to the present day. It encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Contains over 8,000 primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, 1,500 photographs, maps, and other images.
Coverage: Late 1700s to present