Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Best Practices: Monographs

Goal

Relevant library collections that meet the curriculum and research needs of university’s academic programs and individual faculty research.

Best Practices

Submit sufficient requests to meet target date amounts by deadlines stipulated in Calculation of Dept. Allocations O.L. 06.02, sec. V. Calendar & Application of Formula, 5.03 Target Dates.

 

Submits complete requests with all available bibliographic info, including price and source.

 

Read material reviews, articles and publishers catalogues related to assigned subject disciplines.

 

Research new subject resources for assigned subject discipline.

 

Maintain communications with the Department library representatives and/or all faculty in your assigned areas to insure awareness of how to submit library material needs are met.

 

Be aware of assigned fund balances.

 

Be available to assist the Acquisitions staff as requested regarding questions or problems that may emerge concerning assigned department's requests (theirs or department faculty).

 

Review departments' serial and monograph requests not ordered at the end of the fiscal year (roll overs).

Creates and or updates individual subject collection development policy (subject criteria) for assigned dept.

 

Orients new dept. or fund code faculty library representative to the Alkek Acquisitions/Collection Development program.

 

Inform and encourage subject discipline faculty to apply for library research grants and new faculty start up grants.

In addition to insuring Basic duties are fulfilled should:

Submit requests continuously throughout the submission periods to insure requests flow continuously to expend the allocated funds.

Proactively creates lists, bibliographies and material recommendations of applicable titles for faculty review on regular basis.

Read articles and books about trends and issues in the discipline itself.

Recommend material for gaps you find in any or all subject areas of the collection, including Reference.

Work with CD librarian and YBP rep. to formulate subject profile for approval plan.  Review profile at least once annually.

Looks at theses and dissertations done by researchers or students in discipline and apply to collecting in that discipline.

Proactively initiates library acquisitions/collection development program orientations for all new faculty in assigned subject area.

Volunteers to select material for additional departments that may not have an assigned subject librarian or volunteer to select to help a colleague who is not able to meet target date deadlines.
 

Be available to give tour of library and resources in subject discipline to new faculty applicants on campus when requested by assigned academic dept.
 

Create guides to library resources and material in assigned subject area, particularly microfiche /film or print collections of primary source library material, particularly those sets that are unknown and/or minimally cataloged.

In addition to insuring Basic and Better duties are fulfilled should:

Becomes familiar with publisher usage limitations or restrictions of requested material (like PPRs or kits professional requirements) and includes that info when requesting material.

Write or collaborate with a faculty member on a book review

Select material based on ILL reports, suggestion form, usage statistics, circulation reports, discipline research trends and faculty research needs (expressed or based on research via analytic tools).

Review approval plan several times a year, make adjustments as needed.

Look at faculty publications (via Analytics tools and IR) and apply that information to collecting in that discipline.

Looks at theses and dissertations done by researchers or students in discipline (IR notifications) and apply some collecting, as appropriate, in that discipline.

Advise library administration of future library needs.

Suggested Measures of Success

Target balances are met on or before the target date.

Usage and survey responses (LibQual) will indicate collections in discipline are increasing and relevant.

Academic dept. faculty will regularly contact subject librarian about collection development needs.

691 will indicate that dept. faculty are actively engaged by submitting requests.Even when faculty request material, the librarian can indicate the request is from faculty via ORs submitter status or by putting in dept. F folder in GOBI.See details of how this is done in the ORs and GOBI suggested best practices.

Documented proof that faculty recruitment was enhanced by library collections (letter/s from dept.)

Librarian can do a “create list” or ask CD for one, by fund code or call number range, and indicate what percentage of those purchased latest year or single year or range of years, have circulated.

Librarian can access circulation statistics (year to date) by call number ranges in Sierra, via circulation reports, Login is Sierra login.

Librarian can submit what they think might document/confirm their level of performance.

Indicate in request slip when material selected is related to a new program, new course or faculty research areas.

Document research and data to support future library needs recommendations.

Librarian is asked to be a member of assigned dept. faculty hiring committee.