Skip to main content

Genealogy: Databases

Genealogy resources

Suggested Databases

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 12.7 million. Sources indexed in BGMI are of several types: Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals. Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries. Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works. Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere. BGMI indexes only reference works containing multiple biographies; it does not index periodical articles or books of biography about a single individual.

Heritage Quest
A comprehensive treasury of family lineage and local histories, including materials for tracing family lineages and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. One can trace their family tree, research folklore topics, and trace the history of their hometown. This database contains genealogies, local histories, third-party histories, and primary source materials of not only towns and families of all 50 states, but also includes information for Canada, England, and Ireland. Access to the information can be achieved by searching for title, family name, geographic area, or subject. It also includes the page images and corresponding indexes for the entire U.S. Census, 1790-1930.

Newspaper Databases

Search historical newspapers for articles, obituaries, events in history, and other information putting context into family history research. The links below can be found on this page.

19th Century UK Periodicals
Primary source British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images. Presents a unique insight into the lifestyles, culture, pastimes and values of not only the elite class but the middle and working classes, as well.

19th Century US Newspapers
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. With an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life. Formats: Newspapers, cover to cover.

ABI/Inform Global (1971-current)

Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990)
Cultural, economic, political & social change. Alternative, radical, & left viewpoints from over 700 periodicals & newspapers.

Chicago Tribune - Historical (1849-1987)

Christian Science Monitor - Historical (1908-1997)

Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1982)

Los Angeles Times - Historical (1881-1987)

New York Times - Historical (1851-2007)

Newspaper Source
About This Resource Subjects: Selected full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, full text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, & others, and selected full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Formats: Many full text articles and transcripts. Coverage: Dates vary.

Portal to Texas History
Gateway to Texas history materials held unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Formats: Texas Newspapers, photographs, yearbooks. Coverage: Prehistory to present

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Search multiple newspaper archives back to the first issues. Includes complete issues of the New York Times (1851-2007), Washington Post (1877-1994), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1987).

San Marcos Daily Record Index (1993-2009) 
This Resource Subjects: Includes news stories, features, obituaries, and birth, wedding, & engagement announcements. Not include: articles published in other newspapers, editorials, sports, calendar of local events, comic strips, & weather reports.

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
Digital edition of The Times (London) with full facsimile images. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. 

Wall Street Journal - Historical (1889-1993)
Full-image archive of The Wall Street Journal, including ads, classifieds, editorials & commentary.

Washington Post - Historical (1877-1994) 
 Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.