How to use this Guide
This guide was developed to help you start researching your family history. Each of the tabs above have information about different types of library resources and services. There is also a link to my chatbox and email form for questions you may have.
Floor Directory
First Floor (basement level):
Student lounge and open workstations, Room 100
Instructional Technology offices and classrooms — 512.245.2319
Library rooms 101 & 105/106
Second Floor (Main entrance/exit):
Circulation / Reserve Desk — 512.245.3681
Fax machine; Interlibrary Loan pick up; Pick up color printing; Lost & Found; Guard
Research & Information Desk — 512.245.2686
Computers; Printers; Popular Reading Collection; Open Theater; Café; Scanner; Copier
Associate Vice-President, University Librarian, Room 204 — 512.245.2133
Periodicals & Media Desk — 512.245.3894
Current and bound periodicals (1960-current); microfilm/microfiche; DVDs; Language Learning CDs;Models; Kits; Graphic Novels; Secured Collections; Juvenile Collection; TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection; Scholastic Guided Reading; Testing Collection; Reference Collection; Career and Business Collections
Research, Instruction & Outreach Department — 512.245.3893
University Copyright Office — 512.245.1090
Computer Lab and open workstations — 512.245.2106
Skip the line and print your document from your own device with SendNPrint!
GIS Services — 512.245.3216
Government Information Desk — 512.245.3686
Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC) — 512.245.2515
Collaboration Center 480 a & b (reserve a room)
Fifth, Sixth, & Seventh Floors:
All books; older bounds periodicals dated 1959 and older — (books and periodicals shelved by call number)
5th floor (Quiet Study) — (A-J) & University Archives (UnivArchives@txstate.edu)
6th floor (Quiet Study) — (K-Q)
7th floor — (R-Z) & The Wittliff Collections — 512.245.2313
Library Hours — 512.245.2187
* Library Building Hours vary over interim, holidays, final exams, mini-session.
Service Point Hours also vary from Library Building Hours: Research & Information Desk, The Wittliff Collections, SLAC, Library Computer Lab, Government Information, Instructional Technologies, RRHEC Library, Schneider Music Library.
Group and individual study rooms are available on 5th, 6th, and 7th floors. Reservable group study rooms are located on the 5th floor.
Photocopiers are located on floors 2 and 3. Copiers accept change only-15 cents per page
FREE scanner station available on Floors 2, 3, and 4 with the capability to save scanned material to a flash drive or send as a PDF email attachment.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Ask a Librarian
- Ask Us!Use the Ask Us! service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer chat and text, or you can email your question.
- Request Research AssistanceYou may also make an online or face-to-face appointment with a librarian or specialist. Learn more about individual research consultations.
TexShare
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.
- All current Texas State students and employees are eligible.
- Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
- Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
- You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials.
- Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or grades, etc.
- For questions about TexShare contact the Ask Alkek Desk at 512.245.2686
