Skip to main content

Adult, Professional, and Community Education (APCE): Suggested Databases

Ref Works

Refworks is web-based bibliographic software that enables you to:

  • Organize your research
  • Include citations while you write your paper
  • Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
  • Import references from many data sources

Databases

Start Your Research (SYR) is what displays on the library's homepage on the bottom left. SYR is a search that sits atop many (not all Alkek databases) of our databases and does one search across them all. It is best to search it as it displays by default rather than clicking on Articles, which will take out some databases from your search results, like ERIC. SYR should be a place to begin but shouldn't be the only resource you consult, including spending your time searching within the databases like ERIC even though they do get included in SYR as not all results may display from each database. SAMPLE SEARCH

Databases search many journals all at one time and the ones listed below are only those suggested you start with as they should related to Adult Education. Your program also has a list of core adult education journals you should review; many are accessible and searchable through Alkek Library.

Suggested Research Databases:

SocINDEX
PsycINFO
ERIC 

Education Source

Business Source Complete

Dissertations & Theses 

.

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:

Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - RefWorks