Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CJ 3346: Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology: Library Services & How to Get Help

This guide was created to support the Criminal Justice Research Methods 3346 classes.

Welcome

How this guide can help:

The guide is arranged to help you navigate the library's resources and utilize the services available to you.

Ask a Librarian

Use the Ask a Librarian service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer chat and text, or you can email your question.

You may also make an online or face-to-face appointment with a subject librarian. Learn more about individual research consultations.

Library Directory

Alkek One

Services: ITAC Help Desk, Print Shop
Spaces: DesignSpace, GeoSpace, Immersion Studio, MakerSpace, YouStar Studios: Video Recording, Audio Recording, Production, Open Computers (behind stairs)

Floor 2

Services: Ask Alkek Desk: 245-2686, Security Guard
Spaces: Open Computers, Printers, Media Corner, Open Theater, Reservable Collaboration Rooms
Offices: Associate Vice-President, University Librarian, Room 204: 245-2133, Administration Offices 204 & 209 

Floor 3

Services: Checkout Desk: 245-3681, Library Material Checkout, Reserve, Secured Collection, Laptops, Interlibrary Loan pick up, Lost & Found, Government Document Assistance 
Resources: Collections: DVDs, CDs, Equipment, Juvenile Collection, Current Periodicals, Popular Reading, Secured Collection, Language Learning CDs, Models, Kits, Microfilm, Graphic Novels, TCMC Collection (K-12 Textbooks), Government Documents, Games, Toys, Public Computers, Maps
Offices: Research, Instruction, & Outreach Office: 245-6311, askalibrarian@txstate.edu; University Copyright Office: 245-1090

Floor 4

Spaces: Library Instruction (440), Instruction Lab (452), Conference Halls A & B, Lounge with Vending Machines and Microwaves
Resources: Government Documents Collection (Check in at the 3rd floor desk for assistance.)
Offices: Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC) Room 411: 245-2515, Veterans Academic Success Center (VASC) Room 404: 245-6192 

Floor 5

Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Nursing Mother's Room (536), individual and group study rooms 
Resources: A-J General Collection
Offices: University Archives: UnivArchives@txstate.edu

Floor 6

Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Computer Lab: 245-2106, Group Study Rooms
Resources: K-Z General Collection

Floor 7

Spaces: Open Study Areas, Individual and group study rooms
Resources: The Wittliff Collections: 245-2313 (New galleries now open!)

Library Hours (Fall, Spring Semesters)

DAYS  HOURS 
MONDAY-THURSDAY 7 AM TO 1 AM
FRIDAY 7 AM TO 8 PM
SATURDAY 10 AM TO 6 PM
SUNDAY 10 AM TO 1 AM

Library Hours: 245-2187
Hours vary for interim, holidays, finals (library.txstate.edu/hours)
 

Other Useful Guides

ILL - TexShare

undefined

COVID-19 Update: The Interlibrary Loan unit at Texas State has resumed normal operations. However, due to many libraries still being closed and not lending physical items, it may be difficult or slower than usual to obtain some items. Please be patient!