CJ 4350: Contemporary Legal Issues in Law Enforcement

Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching.

Some good places to look for background information are:

• Encyclopedias
• Basic books (handbooks, possibly textbooks)
• Web sites
• Newspapers
• Magazines

If you're not sure what topic to research, a good place to find a Criminal Justice topic is the NCJRS A-Z Topics Index

The following databases focus on current issues and trends in various disciplines. They usually provide information such as curent situation of the topic, chronology, and opposing viewpoints. They are helpful when beginning to research a topic that you are not familiar with or if you want to know more about what both sides are saying.

CQ Researcher

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.

SAGE eReference

A collection of onine reference material that covers sociology, social work, multicultural and gender studies,political science, psychology, anthropology, criminal justice, health & medicine. Main page allows for searching across all titles and subjects in the collection.

Credo Reference 

Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.