Overview
Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.
- Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles printed in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
- Databases can be searched by subject, title, and/or author
- Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database, sometimes it is not and you have to look for it using our link source button, or the Periodical List, or you might even have to see if we have the print version of it available.
The library has over 500 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject. The curated list of databases below have been pulled from the Family & Consumer Sciences, Finance & Economics, Health & Medicine, Political Science and Social Work subjects.
Searching Multiple Databases & Resources at Once
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
Find The Most Cited Articles In Your Field
Consumer Affairs
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window INCLUDED IN START YOUR RESEARCH Marketing, management, MIS, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes SWOT analyses and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. Coverage: Indexing 1886 to present, full text start date depends on journal.
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new window Indexes documents which provide historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies around the world. 1914 to present.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window Index of scholarly journals and other works on all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. 1934-present.
Fashion Merchandising & Interior Design
Find peer-reviewed research articles:
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window Design and craft journals plus data on international designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. 1973-present.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes or provides access to hundreds of art, archaeology, architecture, design, media and related journals and books in English and Western European languages, as well as art reproductions and images. Index from 1928, full text from 1937.
Find Fashion Trends and Industry Info:
- Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window Forecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry for men, women, boys, girls, accessories, and home. Provides information from worldwide retail floors, runways, and trade shows.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- WWD Archive This link opens in a new window Popular fashion magazine. This is a complete archive of first issue in 1910 to present.
Human Development Family Science
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. 1970 to present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window Scholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
Nutrition and Foods
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Food Science Source This link opens in a new window Articles on food industry-related issues: agribusiness, packing, processing, safety, service, shipping, culinary innovation and product development. 1938 to present
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Version of PubMed. Biomedicine, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Pre-clinical Science, Health Policy Development and Life Sciences. With approximately 5,400 current medical journals from around the world, this is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. Full text is available for approximately one half of the journals. 1865-present.