Note about Databases/Websites & Finding Images
Welcome!
This brief guide is designed to help you locate images for your research projects through the library and other resources.
It is not an exhaustive list of what is available to you so, If you don't see what you are looking for, please ask a librarian for some help either by using links in the profile box to the right on this page or using our "Ask a Librarian" service , we are happy to help!
The university library subscribes to over 600 databases.
Here is a list of many databases that contain images
A few which might be useful for your research are listed in the "image databases" box below.
Also included here are a few websites from various institutions which have images.
Image Databases
The university library subscribes to over 600 databases.
Here is a list of many databases that contain images
Below are a few databases from the list which may be especially useful for your projects-
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowNote: Use the "filter" button just below the search button near the top of the page before doing your search.
This will allow you to limit your search by both time periods and formats (check the box for photos/illustrations) - AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowSimilar to African American Experience listed above, use the "filter" button near the top search box to limit results to photos/illustrations prior to entering search terms.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center This link opens in a new window
Search millions of items from the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library, research holdings and collections.
- Getty Search Gateway This link opens in a new windowSearch results can be limited to photographs or other limits on left side of search results.
Websites with Photos
Another Guide for Finding Images
Our Art librarian has compiled a guide with additional sources and information on finding and using images
You may find additional resources there, as well as great information about using images in your research projects.
