Accessing Databases
As a TXST affiliate, you have access to hundreds of free databases. To search the library's large database catalog, you can click the Database button on the Start Your Research bar.
Recommended Databases
- American Chemical Society PublicationsAmerican Chemical Society journals, ebooks and proceedings; Chemical & Engineering, News; and Advances in Chemistry. 1879-present
- ASTM StandardActive and historical versions of all ASTM standards plus all ASTM published manuals, symposia papers, journals, books, and research reports covering metals, petroleum, construction, and the environment.
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (Web of Science)Cited conference proceedings in science with enhanced coverage of books and meeting abstracts, especially in key areas such as engineering, chemistry, physics, and biology. 1990 to present.
- Google ScholarSearches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
- Sage Journals OnlineCovers all subject areas but particularly strong in social studies. Most journals provide access from volume 1 to present.
- ScienceDirectScholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- SciFinderChemical and related scientific information from Chemical Abstracts Service. Mid 1800s to present. Registration is required for use:
Registration is required to use SciFinder:
- First, add registration@cas.org and passwordreset@cas.org to your Safe Senders list in your Bobcatmail settings (gear icon), in order to receive email from CAS.
- Next, register and create an account using this link
- ScopusCitation database of high-quality peer-reviewed literature in scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings with added functionality to identify research trends, and view metrics at the journal, document and author level.