Call Number Areas and Subject Headings for Film Studies
Call number areas for film studies are from PN1993 to PN1997.
SUBJECT HEADINGS for FILM STUDIES - these are links with lists of books on this subject:
Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2011 Checkout Desk, 3rd FloorISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Log in to ILLiad to make an Interlibrary Loan request
Interlibrary Loan is a Library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own.
This service is free to Texas State students, faculty, and staff.
Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks. Turnaround time for articles
varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to
3 days.
RSS Feed of New Art & Design Titles!
Books & Printed Indices
Print indexes provide citations to articles. You'll need to use the Catalog or Periodicals list in conjunction to check to see if we have a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973General Collection, Floor 7 call number: Z5784.M9 G47
Film Index: A Bibliography. Volume 1: The Film as Art (1895-1935)General Collection, Floor 7 call number: Z5784.M9 W75 1966 v1
Film Literature Index General Collection, Floor 7 call number: Z5784.M9 W75 1966 v1
Index to Critical Reviews General Collection, Floor 7 call number: Z5784.M9 B64 (3 volumes)
Index to Motion Pictures Reviewed by Variety, 1907-1980
International Index to Film Periodicals
Magill’s Cinema Annual (1982-)
Multi Media Reviews Index (1970-1972)
New Film Index: A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English, 1930-1970 Z5784.M9 M29 1975, 7th floor
New York Times Index (1851-) Print – Index Table 1, 3rd Floor & Online Database
New York Times Film Reviews (1913-2002) not currently received
Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 Z5784 .M9 B39, 7th floor
These are selected materials on film other than indices and are located upstairs in the regular collection on 5th (A-J), 6th (K-Q), and 7th floors (R-Z).
Awake in the Dark: An Anthology of American Film Criticism PN1995 .A86
Classic Cinema: Essays in Criticism PN 1994 .S614
Critical Focus: An Introduction to Film PN 1994 .B544
Directors and their Films PN1998 .B85 1993
Encyclopedia of Novels into Film PN1997.85 .T54 1998
Fact File: American Film Institute Education Service OVERSIZE 6th floor PN1994 .A43 1979
Film as Film: Understanding and Judging Movies PN1994 .P394 1993
Film Genre: Theory and Criticism PN1994 .F439135 1999
Film Quarterly: Forty Years online full-text PN1995 .F465
Film Review Annual PN1995 .F465
Films by Genre PN1998 .L63 1993
Encyclopedia of Great Movies Oversize Shelves, Floor 6 PN1993.45 .E53 1985b
New York Times Film Reviews 1970-2002 PN1995 .N4 (older years same call number shelved on 6th floor)
New York Times Encyclopedia of Film Oversize shelves, 6th floor PN1993 .N465 1984
Primal Screen: Essays on Film and Related Subjects PN1995 .S354
Screen Arts: A Guide to Film and Television Appreciation PN1994 .F45
Seeing through Movies PN1994 .S47 1990
Handouts for Finding Books
- Library catalog guide
- How to use the library catalog and locate books in the library by call number.
- Library Directory
- Floor information and call number map to find books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
