Skip to Main Content

SOCI 3363: Medical Sociology: Finding Articles

Where to Search

Use Sociology Databases to find articles on your topic.

Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database. 

Databases contain proprietary content from a variety of scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and more.

Some databases contain content from only one publisher, such as Elsevier or Wiley, while others have content, or index articles, from a variety of publishers.

Also, see the suggested databases listed on this research guide.

Finding Full Text

On the Library Homepage you can search the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in Start Your Research.
Periodical List is the search page to use when you need to know if the Library has print and/or online access to a journal.  If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan/ILL.
 
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online.  The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.

► Not every journal is available in both Print/Microform as well as Online ◄

Search Tips

Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching. What's Boolean? 

AND: "wrongful* accus*" AND "mental health"

OR:  "mental health" OR "mental* ill*"

Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "young adult". 

Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.   

Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *. 

DISAB* will retrieve: disabled, disabilities, disability, etc.   

Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.