SOCI 4306: Sociological Theory

Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present

Indexes social work and related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, welfare, aging, substance abuse, and community organization. 1977-present.

Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.

Index to articles in international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Topics include indigenous peoples, LGBTQIA, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. 1969 to present.

News, culture, and history from 300 publications of ethnic, minority, and native presses. 1990-present.

Historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. 1970s to present.

Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.

Documents of the LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century to present.

Vast archive of social science data for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, Stata and R. 1962 to present.

Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present. 10 simultaneous users.

Indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets. 1900-present.

Nonpartisan organization informing the public about issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. Data is released approximately 2 years after reports are published. Access to data sets requires users create an account and have experience with SPSS, SAS, Stata or R.

Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.

Focuses on the struggle for civil rights and U.S. Supreme Court issues related to civil liberties, race and gender. 1912-1990.

Articles and primary sources on the history and culture of indigenous peoples from precontact through the 21st century. Includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.

A growing collection of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues of sexuality and gender throughout history and current impacts on LGBTQ communities around the world. Current access includes four collections: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts  1-2,; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; Community and Identity in North America.

Primary source material from British Archives for study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture. Topics include conduct & politeness, education & sensibility, and the body.

Scholarly Latin American cultural, historical and social research published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and agencies not controlled by commercial publishers. Includes working documents, pre-prints, research papers, and statistical documents.

Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.

Documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives.1928-1976

Covers themes such as civil rights, counter culture, left movements, right movements, sexual revolution, student activism, and the Vietnam War. 1960 to 1974.