LibGuides: CJ 4327: Ethics of Social Control: Suggested Databases

Start Your Research & Google Scholar

Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
Not all content retrieved in a search is available full-text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
To set your browser to always access Texas State full-text content, locate Settings in Google Scholar, navigate to Library Links, and search for Texas State University-San Marcos -Findit@TxState. Select this and any other resources you would like to access, then Save.

Suggested Databases

Databases come from the Criminal Justice and/or Sociology subjects on the main databases page. The following list resources are considered core research databases for Criminal Justice research.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminology & related disciplines, crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. International coverage, 1910-present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Theoretical and practical material for both scholars and those in criminal justice related fields. 1981 to present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of research about corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims. 1970 to present.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952-present.
8 simultaneous users
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present

Related Databases/Journal Packages:

PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Covers all subject areas but particularly strong in social studies. Most journals provide access from volume 1 to present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Wiley and Blackwell journals and over 22,000 ebooks. 1997 to present, with select journal titles going back further to volume 1.

Finding Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
World's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Full text dissertations from universities between 1933 and 1955, plus additional indexing to more recent dissertations.

Citation Indexes

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-search of multiple databases: Web of Science citation indexes (Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book, Data, and Conference Proceedings, and Emerging Sources), Biosis Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect (tables of contents), Derwent Innovations Index, SciELO, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Also provides links (at top edge) to Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators.

Finding Court Cases or Law Reviews

Westlaw Academic This link opens in a new window
Decisions and case law from all state and federal courts, statutes, federal regulations, law review and legal journal articles. 1789-present.