Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching.
AND: reading AND motivat*
OR: "phonemic awareness" OR "phonological awareness"
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases > "alphabetic principle"
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text and/or peer-reviewed journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
read* will retrieve:
read, reading, reader, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
Start Your Research (SYR)
1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Periodical List (PL)
2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Periodical List: Enter "Journal Title"
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote
For EndNote Web, Under Downloads, use Capture Reference
To find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.