Search Tips
earch by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching. What's Boolean?
AND: "sex* ed*" AND teen*
OR: treatment* OR interventions* || "bug spray*" OR "insect repellant*"
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "public health"
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *.
ADOLESCEN* will retrieve: adolescence, adolescent, adolescents, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
- Periodical List (PL)2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.
Citation Management
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research
- Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar
- Sync your EndNote Web to Desktop account
Alkek Library also has a Style Guide that covers APA as well as other citation styles.
