Library Links for Finding Artists' Books & Zines
- Artists' Books CollectionSee all the artists' books and zines in the different locations in Alkek and the Archives & Research Center
- ZinesSee all the Zines at Alkek in the different locations. More will be added soon!
- Book Design booksA list of books about book design and making books.
Useful Subject Headings for Finding Relevant Materials
Books on the subject Bauhaus
Bauhaus ( a list of books with the subject heading Bauhaus
Bauhaus Exhibition Catalogs ( a list of books with the subject heading Bauhaus - Exhibitions
Books on the history of Bauhaus (a list of books with the subject heading Bauhaus - History
Books on Color Theory
Color theory (a list of books with the subject heading Color in Art)
RSS Feed of New Art & Design Titles!
Subject Specific Bibliographies of Resources at Alkek Library
- Fibers Books, Ebooks, and Videos at Alkek LibraryA list of fibers resources at Alkek Library with links to library catalog records.
- Fibers Resources at Alkek LibraryA bibliography of fibers books, current periodicals, and databases for finding articles at Alkek Library. No links to catalog records. Formatted in traditional bibliography style. Published fall 2010 by Tara Spies Smith.
- Printmaking Books and Videos at Alkek LibraryAn Excel sheet with titles, descriptions, and links to catalog records for printmaking books and videos at Alkek Library.
Handouts for Finding Books
- Library catalog guide
- How to use the library catalog and locate books in the library by call number.
- Library Directory
- Floor information and call number map to find books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
Art & Design Librarian
Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2011 Checkout Desk, 3rd FloorISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
