It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multi-subject resources from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities & other scholarly organizations. To set up your Google Scholar search preferences to see the Find it @TXST links see the: Google Scholar FAQ
Vast archive of social science data. Can use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, & Stata. Thematic categories include census data, community & urban studies, conflict, aggression, economic behavior, education, leadership, geography, health care, legal systems, mass political behavior, and organizational behavior.
Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL® and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM® Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present.
Part of the Web of Knowledge, the Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets. 1900-Present
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They make their collected data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time. Find a dataset by research area: U.S. Politics & Policy; Journalism & Media; Internet, Science & Tech; Religion & Public Life; Hispanic Trends; Global Attitudes & Trends; Social & Demographic Trends; American Trends Panel Methodology. Data is released approximately 2 years after reports are published.
An extensive array of data by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. In addition to the Data Tools, explore the menu to find additional resources, including IPEDS. Coverage varies.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations can be very useful for research. Search this database to find relevant dissertations and theses:
Multi-subject. World's largest collection of full text theses and dissertations. Contains 1.7 million full-text graduate works and 3.8 million abstracted or indexed records along with the ability to cross-search with other ProQuest resources. Coverage: 1861 to present
Multidisciplinary. The only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities originally printed by H.W. Wilson Co. as the index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. This reproduction provides full page images of the original print index, and may be searched by author, title, subject and university. Coverage: 1933-1955
The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals.
Coverage: 1969 to present
Multicultural and Gender Studies. Archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Other Related Databases
All databases come from the SociologyDatabases by Subject page.
Anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning & public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, & social work.
2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis and provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Coverage: 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990
British culture and society. History, literature, sociology and education from a gendered and perspective. Key topics include conduct and politeness, domesticity & the family, consumption & leisure, education & sensibility, and the body.
History, society, culture, and politics of the U.S.A. in the 1960s. Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary provide insight to the issues of the time - Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement.